NBN Co Limited Board Appointment

The Albanese Government has appointed Mr Kevin Russell as a Non-Executive Director to the NBN Co Limited (NBN Co) Board for a three-year term, commencing 22 April 2024.

Mr Russell has over 20 years’ experience in the telecommunications industry, including significant leadership and business transformation expertise.

Mr Russell’s previous roles include Managing Director of Vocus Group, Group Executive of Retail for Telstra, Chief Country Officer of Optus, and various Chief Executive Officer roles in the Hutchison Whampoa Group. His appointment ensures a strong and diverse Board will continue to oversee NBN Co.

The Government acknowledges and thanks Mr Andrew Dix for his service as Non-Executive Director on the NBN Co Board since 2021.

Mr Dix’s time on the Board included overseeing the upgrade of a further two million premises as part of the NBN Co’s fixed-line network upgrade program, and the revision of NBN Co’s Special Access Undertaking accepted by the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission as being in the long-term interests of consumers.

We congratulate Mr Russell on his appointment, and look forward to continuing to work with NBN Co to connect Australians to high quality broadband.