Energy bill relief rolling out to the Jervis Bay Territory

As part of the Albanese Labor Government’s commitment to reducing cost-of-living pressures, the Energy Bill Relief Fund will soon be rolling out to households and businesses in the Jervis Bay Territory.

This is the first time that eligible non-self-governing territories households have been able to access Commonwealth Government rebates.

The energy bill rebate will allow residents to access $500, in line with New South Wales. Eligible businesses in the Jervis Bay Territory will be able to access a $650 rebate, which will be automatically credited to their bills.

Elsewhere in Australia, Energy Bill Relief is being delivered in partnership with the Australian Government by states and territories through their existing energy concession schemes.

As it is a non-self-governing territory, separate arrangements have been established to deliver this much-needed relief to the homes and businesses in the Jervis Bay Territory.

 The Albanese Government will fully fund the rebates and will work with electricity providers to deliver them as soon as possible this financial year.

Quotes attributable to the Minister for Regional Development, Local Government and Territories, Kristy McBain MP:

“We are making sure that families and businesses in the Jervis Bay Territory can access support with their power bills – which is why we are delivering the Energy Bill Relief Fund.

“We know that every cent counts – and this targeted and temporary relief will save residents in the Jervis Bay Territory hundreds of dollars on their energy bills.

“This Bill relief is part of our ongoing commitment to improve the support and services available to Jervis Bay Territory residents.”

Quotes attributable to the Federal Member for Fenner, Andrew Leigh MP:

“Families in the Jervis Bay Territory deserve the same financial support as people outside the territory. That’s why the Australian Government is directly funding $500 of electricity bill relief for eligible households.

“If you’d be eligible for energy bill relief in New South Wales, you’ll be eligible in the Jervis Bay Territory.”