Reappointment of Co-Chairs to the Advisory Committee for Indigenous Repatriation

The Albanese Labor Government has today announced the reappointments of Ms Christine Grant and Mr Phillip Gordon as Co-Chairs of the Advisory Committee for Indigenous Repatriation, each for three-year terms.

Ms Grant and Mr Gordon have jointly served two terms as Co-Chairs of the Committee, playing a pivotal role in the delivery of the Government’s Indigenous Repatriation Program to bring First Nations ancestors and culturally significant artefacts and objects home to Country.

Minister for the Arts, Tony Burke, said the reappointments ensure the Committee will continue to benefit from the Co-Chairs’ deep cultural heritage knowledge and repatriation expertise.

“Returning First Nations ancestors to their community and Country is not just a moral obligation, but a vital step towards healing historical wounds, preserving culture, and fostering reconciliation in Australia.”

Minister for Indigenous Australians, Linda Burney, said repatriation is a vital journey of rectifying historical injustices, and fostering a stronger connection between Australia’s past and present.

“Ms Grant and Mr Gordon’s continued strong leadership for the Committee will ensure that the process of repatriation remains respectful, culturally sensitive and aligned with the wishes of First Nations communities,” Minister Burney said.

Ms Christine Grant is a Kuku Yalanji and Mualgal woman from Far North Queensland and the Torres Strait Islands. She has a wealth of experience with more than three-decades in governance, cultural heritage and policy development.

Mr Phillip Gordon is a Goorang Goorang man from Rockhampton in Central Queensland. He has nearly four decades of expertise working in First Nations cultural heritage, museum practice and repatriation. He is an inaugural member of the Committee since 2012.