Old Parliament House Board enriched with experience

The Albanese Labor Government has today announced the reappointment of Mr Bernard Wright AO as the Deputy Chair of the Old Parliament House Board for a further two‑year term.

Mr Wright’s reappointment follows his extensive experience in the Commonwealth Parliamentary Service, including in Old Parliament House and later in new Parliament House, where he made an invaluable contribution.

He began his career in 1971 as a junior Clerk at the Department of Immigration before moving into a Parliamentary Officer role in the Department of the House of Representatives. During his career, Mr Wright held roles including Senior Parliamentary Officer, Clerk Assistant and was the fifteenth Clerk of the House. From 2009-2013, Mr Wright was Secretary for the Commonwealth of Australia Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association.

Mr Wright is a Life Member of the Society of Clerks at the Table. He received the Centenary Medal in 2003, and in 2015, was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) ‘For distinguished service to the Parliament of Australia, particularly through contributions to the understanding and development of parliamentary law, practice and procedure, and as an adviser to the Members of the House of Representatives.’

Minister for the Arts, Tony Burke, said Mr Wright’s dedication and expertise will continue to provide a valuable contribution to the governance of Old Parliament House.

“Old Parliament House holds a special place in Australian history. Now, as home to the Museum of Australian Democracy, it plays an essential role in passing on that important history,” Minister Burke said. 

“The reappointment of Mr Wright will strengthen the Museum’s role in showcasing our great democratic history with Australians and visitors alike.”