National Cultural Policy takes shape

The Albanese Labor Government’s landmark National Cultural Policy is taking shape, with artists and entertainers all over the country having their say on the future of their industry.

Musicians, dancers, writers, actors, directors, producers, painters and industry leaders of all kinds have participated in 14 town hall meetings in every state and territory over the last two months.

They’ve also made more than 1200 written submissions about how the Government can ensure their industry has a bright future.

Development of the policy will now enter a new phase as our Review Panels identify the key issues and themes raised through the consultation process and help craft what will be a comprehensive roadmap for Australia’s arts and culture sectors for the decades ahead.

To support this process the Government is also establishing an Expert Advisory Group to provide overarching strategic advice. The Advisory Group includes:

  • Ms Janet Holmes à Court AC (WA) is an Australian businesswoman and arts philanthropist, who has served as chair of the Australian Children's Television Foundation, Art Gallery of Western Australia, Black Swan State Theatre Company and the West Australian Symphony Orchestra and on the Board of the Reserve Bank of Australia.
  • Mr Adrian Collette AM (NSW) is Chief Executive Officer of the Australia Council for the Arts, who has held previous roles as the Chief Executive of Opera Australia and in the higher education and publishing sectors.
  • Ms Alysha Herrmann (SA) is a writer, performance-maker, creative producer and youth arts worker from regional South Australia.
  • Ms Sinsa Mansell (TAS) is a Trawoolaway woman and co-founder, performer, and choreographer with pakana kanaplila, a Traditional/Contemporary Tasmanian Aboriginal dance troupe.
  • Ms Kitty Taylor (TAS) is a visual artist from lutruwita / Tasmania. She is Co-Founder and Co-Executive Director of RANT Arts, a peak arts organisation that administers the Regional Arts Fund in Tasmania. Her passion is for socially engaged practice and creating programs that build the capacity of both individuals and communities. Kitty is a member of the Institute of Community Directors Australia.
  • Mr Christos Tsiolkas (VIC) is an award-winning Australian author and a patron for the Victorian Writers Centre and Outer Urban Projects.
  • Professor Clare Wright OAM (VIC) is an award-winning historian, author, broadcaster and public commentator, and is currently a Professor of History and Professor of Public Engagement at La Trobe University

The new cultural policy will have five pillars:

  • First Nations first: recognising and respecting the crucial place of these stories at the centre of our arts and culture.
  • A place for every story: reflecting the diversity of our stories and the contribution of all Australians as the creators of culture.
  • The centrality of the artist: supporting the role of artists as creators and everyone in the sector as workers.
  • Strong institutions: providing support across the spectrum of institutions – funded, philanthropic and commercial - which sustain our arts and culture.
  • Reaching the audience: ensuring our stories reach the people at home and abroad.

Labor has a proud history of support for the arts.

Both the Keating and Gillard Governments developed cultural policies.

We will deliver a new National Cultural Policy before the end of the year.

The arts, entertainment and cultural sector is important to who we are as Australians and plays a vital role in the economy. And now it has a Government that listens, cares and is determined to deliver a better future for our creative talent.

Public submissions have now closed. To read the submissions – which are being progressively published on the Office for the Arts’ website – and for more information on next steps, visit: