Kate Jenkins AO to chair Creative Workplaces Council

Australian artists and arts workers deserve safe and fair workplaces.

That’s why as part of Australia’s new national cultural policy, Revive, the Albanese Labor Government is establishing Creative Workplaces – a new body to raise and set workplace standards across the arts.

It will provide advice on issues of safety, welfare and pay in the arts and entertainment sector, refer matters to the relevant authorities and work with the sector to develop codes of conduct and resources for the sector.

Today the Government is announcing Kate Jenkins AO will be appointed as Chair of the Creative Workplaces Council.

A former Sex Discrimination Commissioner and author of the Respect@Work report into sexual harassment, Ms Jenkins is the perfect person to fill this important leadership position.

“Australian artists and creatives aren’t hobbyists, they’re workers. They deserve safe and fair workplaces like every other worker,” Minister Burke said.

“That’s why we’re establishing Creative Workplaces and I can’t think of anyone better suited to chairing this Council than Kate Jenkins.

“She brings a wealth of experience and undeniable authority to Creative Workplaces, and I’m certain her leadership will result in tangible improvements for Australian artists and arts workers.”

All arts organisations seeking federal Government funding will be expected to adhere to minimum workplace safety and employment standards.

The new body responds to the Raising Their Voices report – which found the unacceptable presence of sexual harassment, bullying and discrimination in the Australian music industry – and the consultation in Revive.

The Creative Workplaces Council will provide expert advice on the services to be delivered by Creative Workplaces.

In addition to Ms Jenkins, the Government will appoint six further members to the Council.

Creative Workplaces Council

  • Ms Kate Jenkins AO (Chair) – Australia’s Sex Discrimination Commissioner from 2016 to April 2023.  
  • Dr Tony Ayres – Executive Producer, Tony Ayres Production, writer, director and founding member of Matchbox Pictures.
  • Ms Fiona Donovan – Award-winning production designer and art director, and current Vice President of the Australian Production Design Guild Board.
  • Ms Ruth Hazleton – Award-winning independent musician, academic and historian.
  • Ms Michel Hryce – Director of People and Culture of the Michael Cassel Group, and previously In-house Counsel, People and Culture for the Sydney Symphony Orchestra.
  • Ms Tina Lavranos – Executive Director of DarkLab Pty Ltd and previously Director of People and Culture, MONA Museum.
  • Mr Bjorn Stewart – Award-winning freelance Australian actor, writer and television director.

With Revive, the Government is delivering a new chapter in Australia’s cultural story.

Artists and creators – from classical musicians to pub rockers, from First Nations designers to the illustrators of children’s books – know they finally have a Government that values and backs them as workers.

The culture wars from Government are over. Labor is delivering a new chapter in Australia’s cultural story, backed by record arts funding.

More information on Creative Workplaces is available at https://australiacouncil.gov.au/creative-workplaces