Australian artists to receive international royalty rights

For the first time Australian artists will receive royalty payments when their work is resold overseas under changes introduced by the Albanese Labor Government.

Currently visual artists are entitled to a percentage of the price of eligible artworks which are resold commercially for $1,000 or more in Australia. 

Under the Government’s changes the Resale Royalty Scheme is being expanded to include 17 countries that have entered into reciprocal arrangements with Australia. 

This means that – from the 31st of March this year – Australian artists will receive royalties when their eligible artworks are resold in these countries. 

It also means artists from these countries will receive royalty payments for their eligible artworks resold in Australia.

The expansion delivers on the Government’s commitment outlined in the National Cultural Policy, Revive, to enhance the scheme to provide royalty payments to artists, including First Nations artists, under international arrangements.

The 17 countries are: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom. 

It is anticipated that Australia will enter into reciprocal arrangements with more countries in the future. 

Minister for the Arts, Tony Burke, said the changes would make a real difference for Australian visual artists. 

“I remember when we established the Resale Royalty Scheme for visual artists when we were last in Government.

“It was highly controversial, but the right thing to do.

“Now we’re able to expand that Scheme so that artists get their fair share, not only when their work is resold in Australia, but around the world.”

The Resale Royalty Scheme is administered by the Copyright Agency in Australia. 

Since its commencement, the scheme has generated more than $14 million in royalty payments for around 2,700 artists from more than 32,000 sales.