Celebrating road safety excellence and leadership

The Australian Government congratulates all the organisations recognised today at the annual Australian Road Safety Awards for their contribution to improving safety on our roads.

Presenting the awards at a ceremony held at Parliament House in Canberra, Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Transport Senator Carol Brown commended award recipients and nominees alike for their efforts to save lives and reduce injuries on Australian roads.

“We’re all familiar with the idea that road safety is everyone’s responsibility,” Senator Brown said.

“Today’s award winners and nominees have exemplified and acted on this through an inspiring array of initiatives, and I congratulate them on their achievements in advancing road safety.”

Hosted by the Australian Road Safety Foundation and now in its 11th year, the Australian Road Safety Awards recognise excellence and leadership across award categories spanning community, First Nations, school, local and state government, innovation and technology.

Senator Brown said the awards program promotes strategies that will help address road safety issues across all sectors of our society.

“The awards remind us all about the importance of road safety and give confidence to decision makers at all levels that – working together – we can deliver on the promise of the new National Road Safety Strategy 2021–30,” Senator Brown said.

“Tragically, last year 1,122 people died on Australian roads, while around 40,000 people are seriously injured each year.

“As part of our commitment to Vision Zero by 2050, the Australian Government is continuing to work closely with the states, territories, local governments and other stakeholders to deliver a strong plan for implementing the National Road Safety Strategy.

“We also continue to deliver the safe and efficient road infrastructure Australians need and deserve.

“The energy, achievement and commitment we are celebrating here with these awards should be encouraging to us all as we work together towards zero road trauma by 2050.”

A list of this year’s award winners ar available at www.arsf.com.au.

Learn more about how the Australian Government is improving road safety for everyone at www.officeofroadsafety.gov.au.