Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Broad MP Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

Data Retention Grants Program open to industry

Media Release


07 January 2016

Joint release with:

Senator Mitch Fifield

Minister for Communications

The Australian Government has announced the opening of a grants program to provide up to $128.4 million to assist the telecommunications industry with the upfront costs of meeting their data retention obligations.

The Data Retention Industry Grants Program consists of a single funding round open to telecommunications service providers who have data retention obligations.

The program delivers on the Government's commitment to make a financial contribution to service providers' up front data retention costs, and includes support for smaller providers. The design of the program has benefited from consultation with the telecommunications industry, particularly through the Implementation Working Group.

Applications open today and close at 5.00pm (AEDT) on Tuesday 23 February 2016.

Assisting industry with the implementation of the data retention obligations remains a key priority for the Government.

Metadata is used in nearly every counter-terrorism, counter-espionage and organised and major crime investigation. It is also essential for the investigation of child abuse and child pornography offences, which are frequently carried out online.

Telecommunications companies with data retention obligations are required to retain limited communications data for two years.

Service providers with questions about the grants program, including the program guidelines, eligibility advice and the application form can visit or contact the help line for potential applicants on 13 28 46, Monday to Friday between 8am—8pm (AEDT) with the exception of Australian National Public Holidays.