Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Broad MP Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

New Multi-purpose Community Facility for Pinjarra

Media Release


30 June 2015

Joint release with:

Murray Cowper

WA Member for Murray-Wellington

Wally Barrett

President Shire of Murray

Don Randall

Federal Member for Canning

Western Australia's Peel region received a boost today with the official opening of a multi-purpose integrated community, sport and recreation centre in Pinjarra, 80 kilometres south of Perth.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development Warren Truss said the Australian Government was pleased to contribute $365,749 to help fund construction of the Pinjarra Multipurpose Community Facility.

“The new facility is another great example of the Australian Government's commitment to fund infrastructure vital to the development of Australia's regional communities,” Mr Truss said.

Federal Member for Canning Don Randall was on-site today to officially open the facility.

“The facility provides Peel Community Care (PCC) with a new, improved base of operations in Pinjarra and also incorporates the Pinjarra Bowling and Recreation Club,” Mr Randall said.

“With the area's population projected to more than double to 38,000 by 2031 the facility's ability to host the PCC and provide venues for community events and recreational activities, is particularly important.”

Western Australia Member for Murray-Wellington Murray Cowper said the new facilities are a major improvement on those contained in the ageing community centre it replaced.

“It's a big step forward. Works include the construction of a large function room capable of hosting 250 people, two fully-equipped kitchens and a board/training room,” Mr Cowper said.

Shire of Murray President Wally Barrett said the Facility was an excellent example of what can be achieved when major regional community projects were supported by the Australian and state governments.

“An additional benefit was the creation of 12 construction jobs and ongoing employment for four people to manage the facility,” Cr Barrett said.

The new Pinjarra Multipurpose Community Facility was jointly funded by the Australian Government through the Regional Development Australia Fund ($365,749), the Government of Western Australia ($1,600,000) and the Shire of Murray ($1,133,191).

Construction of the facility began in October 2013 and was completed in May 2015.