Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Broad MP Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

Growing stronger regions across New South Wales

Media Release


13 July 2015

Joint release with:

John Barilaro

NSW Minister for Regional Development

The Australian and NSW Government's today announced the Chair and Deputy Chair appointments to Regional Development Australia (RDA) committees across New South Wales.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development Warren Truss said the three-year appointments will provide leadership to RDA committees to drive economic growth and make the most of the potential capability of their region.

“RDA committees play a key role in growing stronger regions across the nation and ensure all three tiers of government work together,” Mr Truss said.

“The committees advise on priority activities that have the capacity to unlock regional economic development and improve the productivity of their region.

“RDA committees will provide advice to the Government on critical issues affecting each region and are an important mechanism to increase access to Australian Government programmes in their communities.

“The committees will also assist local community stakeholders to develop project proposals and direct them to appropriate public and/or private funding sources—including the $1 billion National Stronger Regions Fund.”

NSW Minister for Regional Development John Barilaro said the individuals appointed will help lead NSW through a significant era of growth and investment in regional communities.

“The RDA committees will provide input to State and Federal Governments that will help continue the NSW Government's significant era of investment, which is creating jobs and driving growth across regional NSW,” Mr Barilaro said.

The following individuals have been appointed as Chairs and Deputy Chairs:

  • RDA Far South Coast—Mr John Lamont (Deputy)
  • RDA Illawarra—Mr Edward De Gabrielle (Chair)
  • RDA Mid North Coast—Mrs Adrienne Smith (Chair)
  • RDA Murray—Ms Jennifer Weller (Chair); Mr Desmond Bilske (Deputy)
  • RDA Northern Inland—Mr Ian Lobsey OAM (Deputy)
  • RDA Northern Rivers—Ms Tamara Williams (Deputy)
  • RDA Orana—Mr Matthew Fuller (Deputy)
  • RDA Southern Inland—Mr Ben Maguire (Co Deputy); Cr Sue Whelan OAM (Co Deputy)
  • RDA Sydney—Dr Robert Lang (Chair); Professor Jim Taggart OAM (Deputy)

Regional Development Australia consists of a national network of 55 committees designed to strongly focus on regional economic development and facilitate local projects that aim to make a difference in their local communities.

The Chair and Deputy Chair will now move promptly to appoint a team of active local community leaders to support them.

Mr Truss and Mr Barilaro thanked retiring committee Chairs and members for their service and wished the new committees well as they work to deliver stronger local regions.