Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

Acting Prime Minister opens new dam in Nambucca Valley

Media Release


28 February 2015

Joint release with:

Luke Hartsuyker

Federal Member for Cowper;
Assistant Minister for Employment

Acting Prime Minister Warren Truss today officially opened a new dam in the Nambucca Valley which will secure the shire's future water needs.

The $56 million Bowraville Off-River Storage Dam will source its water from an aquifer and have the capacity to store 4,640 megalitres. The dam's construction was funded by the Nambucca Shire Council with the support of a $10 million grant from the Federal Government and a $14 million grant from the NSW Government.

“Today is an important milestone in the history of the Nambucca Valley,” Mr Truss said.

“This dam will future-proof the shire from drought and allows the council to plan for growth and development across the Nambucca Valley. Water is life, and this dam is an essential piece of infrastructure which will serve the local community for decades to come. For too long governments have been reluctant to build new dams and better harvest our most precious resource. The Coalition Government is currently assessing a number of proposals to construct new dams around Australia, so it is pleasing to be here today to officially open this excellent community asset.”

Federal Member for Cowper Luke Hartsuyker paid tribute to the Nambucca Shire Council and contractors associated with the project.

“I congratulate the Nambucca Shire Council and in particular Mayor Rhonda Hoban. During the 2002 drought there was less than 60 days of water supply left when it finally rained. As a result, council resolved to address the issue and that leadership will now deliver social and economic benefits to the whole shire,” Mr Hartsuyker said.

“There has been minimal disruption during every phase of this project. The planning, design and construction is a credit to all involved, including the council.

“This is a blue ribbon day for the Nambucca Valley and I am delighted the Acting Prime Minister is able to join us today and acknowledge this significant project.”

The construction of the dam proper, including foundation and embankment earthworks, intake tower, spillway, valve house and access road was completed by Haslin Construction. Construction of the transfer pipeline and pump station, raw water collection tank, valve cluster and two new bores was completed by Ledonne Construction.