Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

Infrastructure Australia Board announced

Media Release


01 September 2014

Appointments by the Australian Government to the new Infrastructure Australia Board have been announced, as the expert advisory body transitions today to a new independent statutory authority.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development Warren Truss said the change in the Infrastructure Australia governance structure would help create a stronger, more independent organisation to better serve the nation's needs.

“I am pleased to announce that Mr Mark Birrell will be the Chair of the new board, bringing his extensive experience, strategic infrastructure planning expertise and strong leadership to his new role,” Mr Truss said.

“Mr Birrell has been a part of Infrastructure Australia since 2008 and will give the authority continuity and stability going forward.”

Members appointed to the board are:

  • Mr Mark Birrell (Chair)
  • Ms Julieanne Alroe
  • Mr Gerard Blood
  • Mr Michael Carapiet
  • Mr Peter Corish
  • Dr Colin Duffield
  • Ms Nicole Lockwood
  • Dr Daniel Norton
  • Dr Kerry Schott, and
  • Mr Peter Watson

Mr Truss said the new board, in its more strategic role, would help the Australian Government to remain focused on delivering critical infrastructure, ensuring value-for-money and maximum productivity when building the infrastructure of the 21st century.

Infrastructure Australia has already been tasked to prepare a 15 year forward plan for Australia's infrastructure needs.

“A more robust and transparent Infrastructure Australia with respected and experienced appointees is a key part of our plan to build a strong and prosperous economy,” he said.

“Dr Kerry Schott and Ms Nicole Lockwood were both members of the Infrastructure Australia council previous to this appointment and I would like to acknowledge their prior contributions, as well as that of other council members.”