Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

Transport Ministers agree to new roadworthiness measures

Media Release


07 November 2014

Meeting in Launceston today, the Transport and Infrastructure Council agreed to a range of measures to improve heavy vehicle roadworthiness under the Heavy Vehicle National Law.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development Warren Truss said ministers agreed to improvements to the National Heavy Vehicle Accreditation Scheme, including improved auditing arrangements.

“These new arrangements are important to adopting a nationally consistent risk-based approach to heavy vehicle roadworthiness,” he said.

“Auditors will have until July 2016 to transition to the new arrangements. The changes also mean truckies will no longer be able to choose their auditor.

“Ministers have also agreed to accelerate work on the development of a heavy vehicle compliance and surveillance strategy.

“Fast-tracking this will help to focus national efforts on activities that support long-term transport safety improvements.

“The changes are important for a national framework that targets heavy vehicles for roadworthiness inspections, as well as managing and clearing heavy vehicle defects.

“The National Heavy Vehicle Regulator is already making significant progress to improve access permit administration—particularly notable in boosting the number of pre-approved routes for heavy vehicles to over 500 gazetted and pre-approved routes since February 2014.”

Mr Truss said Ministers also agreed to the National Transport Commission releasing a Regulatory Impact Statement (RIS) on heavy vehicle roadworthiness for public consultation.

“The RIS will canvass options for improving the roadworthiness of heavy vehicles,” he said.

“Public consultation is a good opportunity for interested parties to have their say on options for a national Heavy Vehicle Roadworthiness programme.”

The Regulatory Impact Statement will be available for public comment in early 2015 on the National Transport Commission website at: