Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

Appointments to the Board of Airservices Australia

Media Release


18 July 2014

The Australian Government has made new appointments to the Board of Airservices Australia, bringing extensive expertise in aviation, transport, infrastructure investment, finance, governance and risk management to their new roles.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development Warren Truss today said Mr Tony Mathews had been appointed as Deputy Chair of the Board and Mr David Marchant AM and Mr Tim Rothwell have been appointed as new Board Members.

“Mr Mathews’ significant aviation experience makes him well suited to serve as Deputy Chair building on his important role as the Chair of the Board's Safety Committee,” Mr Truss said.

“Both Mr Marchant and Mr Rothwell bring extensive expertise in transport, infrastructure investment, finance, governance and risk management to the Board.

“All three appointments will be for a period of three years.”

Mr Truss said Airservices Australia is a government statutory authority that manages 11 per cent of the world's airspace, through which more than 4 million flights occur each year.

“As well as providing air traffic control services, Airservices also delivers aviation rescue and fire fighting services at Australia's major passenger airports,” he said.

“Airservices continues to deliver an extensive capital expenditure investment programme of $1 billion over the next five years, providing critical air traffic infrastructure and technology to enhance the safety, efficiency and capacity of the Australian air traffic network.”

More information about Airservices Australia is available at: Biographies on the appointees follow at Attachment A.

Attachment A

Mr Tony Mathews

Tony Mathews was first appointed to the Airservices Board in June 2012 and is currently Chair of the Airservices Safety Committee.

He has more than 40 years' experience in the aviation industry including extensive work in regional aviation as a chief pilot and general manager and as a qualified airline transport and commercial pilot.

Mr Mathews has worked for the Royal Flying Doctor Service, Qantas regional airlines and as a Director of the Regional Aviation Association of Australia as well as several industry and community organisations in the Mildura district of Victoria.

Mr David Marchant AM

Mr David Marchant AM has extensive experience in the transport industry.

He is a former Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Rail Track Corporation and Director and Chair of the Australian Railway Association. Mr Marchant also served as a Director of the Rail Industry Safety and Standards Board.

Mr Marchant has worked as a Managing Director for Lend Lease Infrastructure Services and Director of the Hunter Valley Coal Chain Coordination Company Pty Ltd.

Mr Marchant received the General Division of the Order of Australia in 2013 for significant service to the rail industry through national structural reform and infrastructure upgrades and has been a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors since 2000.

Mr Tim Rothwell

Mr Tim Rothwell held the role of Chief Financial Officer for Brisbane Airport Corporation for almost 20 years until 2013.

He has been involved as a Board member with Wesley Mission Brisbane (and Chair of its Audit and Finance Committee), Chair of Champions Group of OzHarvest Brisbane, Councillor of the Royal National Agricultural and Industrial Association of Queensland and guest lecturer in aviation at the University of NSW.

Mr Rothwell holds a Bachelor of Economics and Accounting (Honours) and is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and a Member of the Australian Financial Executives International and the Australian Institute of Directors.