Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Gee MP Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

New funding to improve liveability across the new Western Parkland City

Media Release


05 September 2018

Joint release with:

Stuart Ayres

NSW Minister for Western Sydney
NSW Minister for WestConnex
NSW Minister for Sport

Eight local councils across the future Western Parkland City will share in a $150 million Liveability Program to provide high quality community infrastructure and public spaces, as part of the Western Sydney City Deal.

Federal Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population, Alan Tudge, said the Australian Government was committed to the Western Parkland City as a centre for new jobs and industry and for providing great places to live and work as the city grows.

“The Western Sydney City Deal is an opportunity to shape the development of Western Sydney and to create and maintain a place where people want to live, businesses want to locate and tourists from across Australia and the world want to visit,” Minister Tudge said.

The Federal and State governments are each contributing $60 million with councils providing a further $30 million to the Liveability Fund to improve parks and community spaces needed for a growing population.

“We are dedicated to providing tangible benefits for the communities in Western Sydney through projects that will give our cities a sense of place and character, like bike paths, community centres and public spaces,” Mr Tudge said.

NSW Minister for Western Sydney, Stuart Ayres, said the program will support the growth of the Western Parkland City, providing essential community infrastructure as communities grow. 

“This funding will empower local governments to deliver local facilities to promote healthy, active lifestyles and support the arts, culture and creativity,” Minister Ayres said.

“As we realise the aspiration of a 30-minute city for Western Sydney, we are bringing people closer to jobs, education and services than ever before to ensure this growing region, its economy and its residents thrive.

“We want people already living in and moving to communities across Western Sydney to see clear and tangible benefits as our third city develops,” Mr Ayres said.

Applications are invited from the eight Councils of the City Deal: Blue Mountains, Camden, Campbelltown, Fairfield, Hawkesbury, Liverpool, Penrith and Wollondilly with successful projects expected to be announced in early 2019.