Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

Takata Airbags Recall—Turnbull Government demands urgent answers from vehicle manufacturers

Media Release


24 July 2017

Joint release with:

Michael McCormack MP

Federal Member for Riverina
Minister for Small Business

The Turnbull Government is demanding urgent answers from vehicle manufacturers about their program to recall vehicles which include potentially faulty Takata airbags, following the recent tragic death of a motorist in Sydney, alleged by NSW police to be a Takata airbag deploying incorrectly.

‘Following discussions today between me, my Ministerial colleague Michael McCormack and Chairman of the ACCC Rod Sims, Minister McCormack and I are writing today to all automotive manufacturers with models potentially affected, seeking a comprehensive status update on the progress of their recall program and their communications with owners of vehicles potentially affected,’ said Minister for Urban Infrastructure Paul Fletcher.

‘I have also directed my Department—the Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development, which regulates the first supply of motor vehicles in Australia under the Commonwealth Motor Vehicle Standards Act—to provide me and Minister McCormack with an urgent and comprehensive report on the progress and current status of the recall program.’

The automobile manufacturers involved—BMW, Chrysler, Dodge, Ford, Honda, Ferrari, Jeep, Lexus, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Performax, Subaru and Toyota—are conducting voluntary recall programs, which have been underway since 2009 when it first became known that there were flaws with Takata airbags.

The federal government has the power to impose mandatory recalls if necessary. This power sits with Minister for Small Business Michael McCormack who has responsibility for consumer protection, and he can exercise this power on the advice of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission.

“Minister Fletcher and I will be working closely with the ACCC to ensure that everything is being done to inform and assist affected consumers. It is also important that car manufacturers and retailers inform consumers about replacement airbags as well,” said Minister McCormack.

The two Ministers said they were determined to ensure that vehicle manufacturers were taking all possible steps to carry out the recall process as rapidly as possible, and that vehicles at highest risk were being given the highest priority.