Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Gee MP Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

Establishing WSA Co Limited

Media Release


07 August 2017

Joint release with:

Senator the Hon. Mathias Cormann

Minister for Finance
Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate
Senator for Western Australia

As shareholder Ministers, we are pleased to confirm the incorporation of the WSA Co Limited. This is the next significant step in the Government's priority to deliver a second airport for Sydney.

With an investment of up to $5.3 billion in equity, WSA Co will operate as a Commonwealth Company, prescribed as a Government Business Enterprise.

WSA Co will be chaired by Mr Paul O'Sullivan. Mr O'Sullivan is the current Chair and former Chief Executive of Optus. Mr O'Sullivan's business leadership expertise makes him highly credentialed to lead the company delivering Western Sydney Airport. His deep experience leading an infrastructure business as it established market share against a long established incumbent will be of great value as Western Sydney Airport is planned and constructed before commencing operations by 2026.

Mr O'Sullivan will be joined by Mrs Fiona Balfour, Mr Tim Eddy and Ms Christine Spring as directors of WSA Co.

Mrs Balfour has over 35 years' experience across a range of industries. She is a long-serving airline executive and is currently a member of the Airservices Australia board.

Mr Eddy has over 30 years' experience in professional services with a focus on commercial transactions, most recently as Managing Partner Operations, Oceania, Ernst & Young.

Ms Spring is an expert in aviation infrastructure and airport operations, as well as a civil engineer with approximately 20 years' experience. She has a focus on planning and construction of significant capital development projects in the aviation industry.

The board's early priorities will be to recruit its CEO and senior management and to commence procurement of construction activities. 

To complement the experience of the directors announced today, the Government expects to appoint further directors in coming months, with a further focus on construction expertise and experience in Western Sydney.