Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

New Appointees Bring Wide Experience to Infrastructure Australia Board

Media Release


04 August 2017

A renewed and refreshed Infrastructure Australia board, with wide experience across many areas of infrastructure, has been announced today.

Julieanne Alroe will be the new chair of Infrastructure Australia. Ms Alroe is the CEO and Managing Director at Brisbane Airport Corporation and has served on the Infrastructure Australia board since June 2015.

Other new appointments include former senior Telstra executive Deena Shiff, former senior Toll executive Andrew Ethell, former Director-General of the Western Australian Department of Transport Reece Waldock and former Evans & Peck executive Dr Peter Wood.

“I am really pleased that the diverse experience of the new appointees—across telecommunications, trucking and logistics, state government transport delivery and consulting engineering—will complement the skills of the continuing board members,” Mr Fletcher said.

Peter Corish AM, Dr Colin Duffield, John Ellice-Flint, Dr Daniel Norton AO and Gabrielle Trainor AO have been reappointed, and Dianne Leeson and Nicole Lockwood continue as board members.

“I warmly thank outgoing board members Mark Birrell, Gerard Blood, Michael Carapiet and Peter Watson for their service. I particularly want to note the outstanding contribution of Mark Birrell, as chair and previously a board member.”

“The Coalition Government has established a stronger role for Infrastructure Australia and Mr Birrell has overseen significant projects, including the Australian Infrastructure Audit—the nation's first comprehensive examination of infrastructure across the energy, telecommunications, water and transport sectors—and the delivery of the first 15–year Australian Infrastructure Plan”.

“Infrastructure Australia is Australia's independent infrastructure advisor and these appointments will enhance its effectiveness as the Turnbull Government invests a record $75 billion in infrastructure over the next decade,” Mr Fletcher concluded.