Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Broad MP Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

Major improvements for town centres and affordability in Canberra

Media Release


05 May 2016

Joint release with:

Zed Seselja

Senator for ACT

The Minister for Major Projects, Territories and Local Government, Paul Fletcher and Senator for the ACT, Zed Seselja, today announced the approval of Amendment 86 to the National Capital Plan.

Mr Fletcher said Amendment 86 was the most significant and comprehensive redrafting of the Plan in its history and would provide a clearer and simpler planning framework for the nation's capital.

“As the first comprehensive review of the Plan since it came into effect in 1990, the Plan now has a better balance in planning responsibilities between the Commonwealth and ACT Governments,” Mr Fletcher said.

“The changes will enable the Commonwealth Government to focus on protecting the national character of Canberra, while allowing the ACT Government to get on with the day-to-day planning for the city's long term growth and economic development.”

Senator Seselja endorsed the changes as a big win for Canberra, particularly for the future of housing affordability and local town centres.

“The current lack of both housing and facilities in Canberra's outer suburbs is making it hard and unappealing for young Canberrans to enter the property market, particularly in Tuggeranong,” Mr Seselja said.

“The updated Plan will ensure the viability of Tuggeranong's future growth and will not only provide for more affordable housing opportunities but also new and upgraded facilities for local residents.

“Reducing duplication and complexity in our planning arrangements is essential for attracting new investment.

“The amendments to the Plan will open up opportunities for development in west Tuggeranong and west Belconnen, which will rejuvenate our local town centres and help small businesses thrive. I have been pushing for these changes since being elected in 2013.”

Among other changes, Amendment 86 will allow for mixed use developments at Anzac Park East and West and new urban development areas.

The National Capital Authority will continue to control Lake Burley Griffin and the inner hills surrounding the city to ensure the landscape setting of the National Capital is protected.  

Amendment 86 is the result of extensive public consultation conducted by the National Capital Authority during 2015.