Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Broad MP Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

New South Wales to provide services to Norfolk Island

Media Release


30 March 2016

Joint release with:

Mike Baird

Premier of New South Wales

Minister for Major Projects, Territories and Local Government Paul Fletcher and New South Wales Premier Mike Baird today announced the New South Wales Government will assist the Australian government to provide some services on Norfolk Island from 1 July 2016.

Mr Fletcher said he was delighted Premier Baird had agreed to assist with health and school education services for Norfolk Island following the Australian Government's decision to extend Australian social security, immigration, taxation arrangements and government services to the island.

From 1 July 2016, Australian citizens residing on Norfolk Island will also have the rights and responsibilities of mainland Australians, including access to Medicare and the Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme.

"The Australian and New South Wales governments are working closely together to determine the scope of services involving NSW, but these will include school education, the management, delivery and regulation of state type health services and advice about financial support for the newly established Norfolk Island Regional Council," Mr Fletcher said.

"The Australian Government is committed to providing high quality, affordable and safe health and aged care services for Norfolk Island.

Norfolk Island will benefit from New South Wales agency expertise in commissioning services for rural areas and island communities such as Lord Howe Island. "I am looking forward to working with New South Wales government agencies to ensure the best possible outcomes for the Norfolk Island community," Mr Fletcher said.

"The Australian Government is committed to reforms which will result in a sustainable, stronger and more prosperous Norfolk Island."

Mr Baird said New South Wales is pleased to help the Australian government achieve its objectives to improve social and economic outcomes for Norfolk Islanders.

"We are incredibly proud to support the Australian Government to ensure the delivery of safe, reliable and effective services to the Norfolk Island community."