Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Gee MP Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

Construction kicks off at West Coast Eagles sports facility

Media Release


30 August 2017

Joint release with:

Trevor Nisbett

Chief Executive Officer West Coast Eagles

Steve Irons

Federal Member for Swan

Construction began on the $59.9 million Lathlain Park redevelopment today, which will provide state of the art training facilities for the West Coast Eagles, and a new sporting hub for the local community.

Minister for Regional Development Fiona Nash said redevelopment of Lathlain Park will drive the rejuvenation of the broader Lathlain Precinct.

“I aim to build the kinds of regional communities our children and grandchildren either want to stay in or come back to, and sporting infrastructure does just that,” Minister Nash said.

“The inclusion of a community education centre, community events and function centre and the interactive sports and cultural centre will make this precinct a focal point for the residents of Victoria Park.”

Federal Member for Swan Steve Irons, who attended today's event, said the new West Coast Eagles sports facility will provide administration and training facilities for the club alongside new community sporting infrastructure.

“The West Coast Eagles have made the finals after a great victory over the Adelaide Crows this weekend. The start of construction today on their future home is a fitting celebration,” Mr Irons said.

“The upgrades include the construction of an Interactive Sport and Cultural Centre as well as two multi-use public ovals, which could be the breeding ground for the next Darren Glass or Peter Matera.”

Chief Executive Officer of the West Coast Eagles Trevor Nisbett said the West Coast Eagles have been delighted with the level of support they have received from all tiers of government that have helped to bring this project to fruition.

“From the town of Victoria Park that embraced the possibility of our club re-locating to this precinct, and to the Federal and State Governments for recognising the community benefits of this development, we thank you,” Mr Nisbett said.

“There have been many people who have played a significant role in bringing this vision so close to reality, but I would like to particularly acknowledge the Federal Member for Swan, Steve Irons, who has been so committed to having our club based in the Lathlain Park Precinct.”

The Lathlain Precinct Redevelopment is jointly funded by the Coalition Government committing $13 million, Western Australian Government $8 million, Lotterywest $2 million, West Coast Eagles $35 million, Wirrpanda Foundation $1 million, and Edith Cowan University $900,000.