Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Gee MP Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

National awards recognise innovative communities

Media Release


01 May 2017

  • 2017 National Awards for Local Government Category Winners announced today
  • Awards celebrate local government contributions to regional growth through innovative service delivery projects

Awards recognising local governments building their communities across Australia were announced today.

Minister for Local Government and Territories Fiona Nash said the 2017 National Awards for Local Government entries were of the highest standard and demonstrate local leadership can make a real difference.

“These are incredible projects directly benefitting communities. From improving road safety through a flood warning system, to enhancing inclusion for people with disabilities, and providing solutions to youth unemployment,” Minister Nash said.

“The National Awards for Local Government celebrate the outstanding achievements of local councils in providing Australia's communities with a wide range of new or improved, high-quality, cost-effective services.

“Importantly the awards provide all those involved in planning and implementing these innovative projects with the national recognition they deserve.

“The awards present an opportunity to celebrate the essential role local governments play in generating social change and economic growth across Australia.

“I congratulate all the nominees and winners for this year's awards.”

The category winners are:

  • Tasmania's Meander Valley Council for its Valley Central Industrial Precinct, Westbury, Tasmania project, in the Contributing to Regional Growth category;
  • Victoria's Southern Grampians Shire Council for its Digital Transformation of a rural community—a journey project,in the Digital Innovation in Local Government category;
  • Western Australia's Shire of Kalamunda for its Youth Employment project,in the Youth Economic Participation category;
  • Queensland's Gladstone Regional Council for its Waste Powering Gladstone's Greener Future: The Benaraby Landfill Gas-to-Power Project, in the Boosting Productivity through Infrastructure category;
  • South Australia's Coorong District Council for its Creating Coonalpyn projectin the Arts Animates—excellence in the capacity building and innovation category;
  • Queensland's Brisbane City Council for its Brisbane Access and Inclusion Plan 2012—2017 Implementation project, in the Disability Access and Inclusion category;
  • South Australia's City of West Torrens for its Summer Festival project in the Multicultural Australia—Strength in Diversity category;
  • Queensland's Logan City Council for its Flooded Road Smart Warning System project, in the Excellence in Road Safety category;
  • Victoria's Wyndham City Council for its WynLens—Visualization, Analysis and Modelling of Holographic City project, in the Innovation to Create More Liveable Australian Cities category; and
  • New South Wales' Sutherland Shire Council for its Ngnamapa Kililpil: OUR STARS project, in the Promoting Indigenous Recognition category.

The winner of the 2017 National Award for Excellence in Local Government will be announced at the Australian Local Government Association National General Assembly Dinner on 20 June 2017.

The Awards are sponsored by Optus Business, Woodside Energy Ltd. and Australian Government Departments.

The full list of category winners and highly commended projects is available at