Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

Temora Medical Precinct opens to community

Media Release


04 February 2017

Joint release with:

Michael McCormack

Minister for Small Business
Member for Riverina

John Barilaro

Deputy Premier
Minister for Regional New South Wales
Minister for Skills
Minister for Small Business
Leader of The Nationals

Katrina Hodgkinson

Member for Cootamundra

Rick Firman

Mayor of Temora Shire Council

  • New medical precinct to deliver vital health facilities for Temora and region.
  • The facility will provide vital X-ray, CT scanning and ultrasound services.
  • Residential units will attract permanent health professionals as well as new residents to Temora.

Construction of the $1.57 million Temora Medical Precinct is now complete with the addition of a new medical imaging facility and three residential units.

Minister for Regional Development Fiona Nash and Federal Member for Riverina Michael McCormack joined the community of Temora Shire for the official opening of the facilities on Saturday 4 February.

“The new medical precinct will deliver greater access to health services for residents in the Temora Shire and surrounding communities,” Minister Nash said.

“These new facilities will provide opportunities for medical students to study and undertake placements in the area, encouraging them to remain in the community longer term.

“I am proud to invest in projects in rural and regional Australia that deliver better health services for the community.”

Mr McCormack said this facility will be of great benefit to attracting doctors, specialists and medical students to Temora to work in a first-class multi-disciplinary health facility who will have access to convenient and affordable accommodation.

“The precinct will service Temora Shire and surrounds, providing X-ray, CT scanning and ultrasound services that residents would have otherwise travelled to Wagga Wagga or even further to access,” Mr McCormack said.

“I’m proud of my association with this project and am pleased to have worked from beginning to end with Minister Nash and my State and Local Government colleagues, the Member for Cootamundra, Katrina Hodgkinson and the Mayor, Cr Firman to have been able to deliver this vital community facility.”

New South Wales Deputy Premier and Minister for Regional New South Wales John Barilaro said this development will have a long lasting impact for the families of Temora and surrounding regions by removing the burden of travel to access what can be lifesaving facilities.

“We estimate that over 4,000 patients will use the medical imaging facility per year,” Minister Barilaro said.

Member for Cootamundra Katrina Hodgkinson said the essential diagnostic services at the Temora Medical Precinct require the power supply of a small town.

“After much lobbying I’m delighted the NSW Government contributed the vital funds for an upgrade of the facility’s power transformer,” Ms Hodgkinson.

Mayor of Temora Shire Council, Cr Rick Firman said the Medical Imaging Centre has been an essential part of Council’s ultimate goal in providing the best possible medical facilities we can provide.

“This is tremendous news for Temora shire, but also, for our neighbouring shires and we are particularly grateful to the Australian Government for close to $600,000 in funding under the National Stronger Regions Fund,” Cr Firman said.

The Temora Medical Precinct was jointly funded by the Coalition Government ($599,962), the New South Wales Government ($50,000), Temora Shire Council ($599,962), and Alpenglow ($320,000).