Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Gee MP Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

Regional Jobs and Investment Package for Tasmania

Media Release


19 April 2017

  • Local committee to identify investment priorities for the Coalition's $25 million jobs package announced
  • Funding for local infrastructure projects, business innovation grants and skills and training
  • Coalition Government letting local communities decide their own future

Minister for Regional Development Fiona Nash announced the Tasmanian Jobs and Investment Packages (RJIP) Local Planning Committee today.

Tom Black has been appointed chair of the committee along with the following members:

  • Melinda Anderson
  • Natalie Geard
  • Robert Higgins
  • Peter Skillern
  • Ian Waller
  • Susan Parr
  • Stephanie Jaensch

“These people are leaders in their local communities and have the important responsibility of representing their communities,” said Minister Nash.

“This Local Planning Committee will nominate the local industry sectors the package will invest in and will identify opportunities for economic growth.

“I aim to help build the kinds of communities our children and grandchildren either want to stay in or come back to, and investing in sustainable local jobs helps grow that kind of community.”

Minister Nash said the Local Planning Committee will develop a Local Investment Plan that outlines sectors for growth and new markets it thinks will create sustainable jobs for the future in Tasmania.

“Once the Local Investment Plan is done, the applications from businesses, councils and community groups across Tasmania can roll in,” said Minister Nash.

Minister Nash said the Coalition invests in the regions because the Coalition understands Australia's cities cannot exist without our regions, which supply cities their water, food, electricity and gas.

“We're so proud to give Tasmania a $25 million shot in the arm,” Minister Nash said.

“Our 10 Regional Jobs and Investment Packages across Australia are worth a total of $220 million and aim to deliver the jobs of today which will still be there tomorrow,” said Minister Nash.

Funding will be available across three streams: Local Infrastructure Projects, Business Innovation Grants and Skills and Training.

For more information, visit the Regional Jobs and Investment Package website.