Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

New Glenelg Foreshore playspace gets two thumbs up

Media Release


19 March 2016

Joint release with:

Stephen Patterson

Mayor of City of Holdfast Bay

Matt Williams

Federal Member for Hindmarsh

One of Adelaide's most popular beaches is now home to a $1.4 million contemporary public ‘playspace’, which was officially opened today.

Minister for Regional Development Fiona Nash said the Australian Government contributed $500,000 towards the Glenelg Foreshore playspace under the Community Development Grants Programme.

“The Innovative play experience will attract upwards of 60,000 youngsters each year from the greater Adelaide area,” Senator Nash said.

“The Australian Government is committed to improving vital regional infrastructure and building local community projects, just like this one, right across Australia.”

Federal Member for Hindmarsh Matt Williams, who cut the ribbon at the official opening of the playspace today, said the community had already been enjoying the facilities since its “open for play” day in January.

“The new playspace has revitalised the foreshore precinct, embedded new activities and facilities for families while preserving the existing character of the Glenelg Foreshore,” Mr Williams said.

“The playspace features timber logs for climbing and balancing, water and sand play, a hammock swing, grassy mounds, a giant slide, climbing dome, cubbyhouse and tunnel, rope activities and in-ground trampolines.

“Works included landscaping the area, site preparation, construction of 50 meters of sitting walls and design and build of the playspace area.”

Mayor of City of Holdfast Bay Stephen Patterson said the new playspace, located on the beach side of the Glenelg Town Hall, was developed by WAX Designs in partnership with Council, based on community consultation.

“The community told us they would love to see opportunities for play in an informal, natural landscape shaded by trees and featuring water play. The playspace design reflects those preferences, it has been custom designed to specifically meet our community's brief,” Mayor Patterson said.

“Around 814,000 people enjoy a day trip to Glenelg every year. For families, the Glenelg Foreshore playspace will be another reason to visit Glenelg, and most importantly, to return.

“It was important that the new playspace be accessible for families, attractive and appealing to a range of ages and abilities, and close to amenities like public toilets, cafes and restaurants.”

Further information about the Community Development Grants Programme is available online at