Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

New Chair for RDA Fitzroy and Central West

Media Release


09 March 2016

The Australian Government has announced the appointment of Mr Graeme Kanofski as the new Chair of the Regional Development Australia (RDA) Committee Fitzroy and Central West in Queensland until the end of 2017.

Minister for Regional Development Fiona Nash said RDA committees continue to play a key role in growing stronger regions across the nation and ensuring all three tiers of government work together effectively.

“RDA committees advise on priority activities that have the potential to unlock regional economic development and improve the productivity of their regions,” Senator Nash said.

“The committees provide advice to the Government on critical issues affecting each region and are an important mechanism to increase access to Australian Government programmes in local communities.

“The committees also assist local community stakeholders to develop project proposals and direct them to appropriate public and/or private funding sources—including the $1 billion National Stronger Regions Fund.”

Senator Nash said the appointment was good news for regional policy in Queensland and would greatly assist the Fitzroy and Central West RDA committee to continue to provide vital input to the Australian and Queensland governments and inform regional policy processes.

“Graeme's many years of experience working with local government in Queensland will help the RDA Fitzroy and Central West committee work with the community to meet and resolve local challenges head-on.

“I would like to thank the former Chair Mr Kym Mobbs for his leadership and contribution to the development of the community through the work of the RDA Fitzroy and Central West.”

Regional Development Australia consists of a national network of 55 committees designed to focus on regional economic development and facilitate local projects that aim to make a difference in their local communities.

Information on the work currently being undertaken by RDA Fitzroy and Central West can be found at:

For more information and the latest news from the national RDA network visit: