Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Gee MP Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

Gladstone's Meteors celebrate new facilities and honour ‘Mr Gladstone’ with field renaming

Media Release


05 March 2016

Joint release with:

Ken O'Dowd

Federal Member for Flynn

New change rooms, amenities block and a new oval name—‘Cyril Golding Oval’—were unveiled at the Meteors Sports Club today.

Minister for Regional Development Fiona Nash said the Australian Government provided $200,000 towards the $260,000 facilities upgrade under the Community Development Grants Programme.

“The programme is aimed at supporting infrastructure projects that promote stable, secure and viable local and regional economies,” Senator Nash said.

‘This is an excellent facility for community sports in Gladstone and this upgrade, with its new change rooms and amenities, will make it even better.

“The upgrade is a great example of the Australian Government's commitment to build productive infrastructure for local communities.”

Federal Member for Flynn Ken O'Dowd, who attended the opening, said the new facilities will attract more home games and visiting teams to the grounds, making it a premier football facility in Central Queensland.

“The new amenities will improve opportunities for disabled athletes and maximise use of the sporting fields by providing more professional and permanent services to members and visiting teams,” Mr O'Dowd said.

“Construction of the new amenities block included two player change rooms, one referees change room, two unisex toilets and a storage room.

“The opening of the new facilities has also seen the field renamed to the ‘Cyril Golding Oval’ after the late Cyril Golding, who was a key figure in the Gladstone community throughout his life.

“Mr Golding, or ‘Mr Gladstone’ as he was known to so many, was a highly respected businessman in the mining and resources sector and yet passionately involved with the Meteors Sports Club over the past 40 years.

“I would like to acknowledge the financial contribution of $60,341 from the Meteors Sport Club.”

The Meteors Sports Club new change rooms and amenities block project began in June 2015 and was completed in December 2015.

For more information about the Community Development Grants Programme please visit