Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Gee MP Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

John Hardy reappointed as Northern Territory Administrator

Media Release


13 October 2016

Joint release with:

Michael Gunner

Chief Minister

Governor-General of Australia Sir Peter Cosgrove has today reappointed the Hon John Hardy OAM as Administrator of the Northern Territory for an additional 12 months.

Minister for Local Government and Territories Fiona Nash said Mr Hardy plays an essential role in the Territory's lawmaking process, ensuring the work of parliament is reflected in day-to-day life.

"Mr Hardy's role ranges from giving assent to bills that have been passed by the Legislative Assembly to make them Territory law, to appointing judges, Ministers and senior public servants on the advice of the Northern Territory Government," Minister Nash said.

"Equally, the Administrator has a range of important ceremonial and cultural duties, such as attending ANZAC Day and other commemorations, as well as acknowledging the work of community members. I am delighted to see Mr Hardy has been reappointed to this vital role on the recommendation of the NT Government."

The decision by the Governor-General also saw the appointment of Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the Northern Territory, Michael Grant QC, to the role of Acting Administrator, as well as the reappointment of Mrs Patricia Miller AO to the same role.

Northern Territory Chief Minister Michael Gunner MLA said Mr Hardy had provided a lifetime of service to the Territory and today's reappointment was a reflection of Mr Hardy's continued commitment to serving Territorians.

"Mr Hardy first arrived in the Northern Territory in 1971 and the rest, as they say, is history," Chief Minister Gunner said.

"His work in aviation—including through Airnorth and Hardy Aviation—has been essential in connecting people living in regional and remote communities with each other.

"He has worked as a radiographer, was President of the Rotary Club of Darwin, sponsored a range of sporting organisations, and worked extensively with the community throughout.

"I am looking forward to working with Mr Hardy, Chief Justice Grant and Mrs Miller in coming years as we work towards delivering a good parliament for all Territorians."

Mr Hardy was first appointed as Administer in October 2014, replacing the Territory's first female Administrator, the Honourable Sally Thomas AM. 

For more information on the role of the Administrator, visit: