Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

Constitution Avenue upgrade complete

Media Release


29 August 2016

Joint release with:

Andrew Barr

ACT Chief Minister

Zed Seselja

Assistant Minister for Social Services and Multicultural Affairs
Senator for the ACT

Meegan Fitzharris

Minister for Transport and City Services

Works on the $44.8 million Constitution Avenue project in Canberra are now complete, with a tree-lined transport corridor officially re-opening to the public today.

Federal Minister for Local Government and Territories Fiona Nash joined Senator for the ACT Zed Seselja, ACT Chief Minister Andrew Barr and ACT Minister for Transport and City Services Meegan Fitzharris to announce the completion of works that began as part of the city's centenary celebrations.

“Through a $42 million gift by the Australian Government, Constitution Avenue is now a better road with safer pedestrian access,” Minister Nash said.

“Constitution Avenue has 261 new trees planted including oaks, pines and myrtles, really capturing Canberra's unique urban-bush character.”

“Australia needs a capital city it can be proud of.”

Senator Seselja said the Constitution Avenue upgrade had delivered a better space for all road users.

“The upgrade features a dedicated bus lane in each direction from Allara Street to Anzac Parade, a separated two-way cycle path in the southern verge, on-street parking and upgraded lighting,” Senator Seselja said.

Mr Barr said the project highlighted the ability of the ACT Government and the Commonwealth Government to work together.

The unique relationship between the ACT and the Federal Government ensures that, for major infrastructure projects like Constitution Avenue and the Majura Parkway, we work together to deliver these projects for the city,” said Chief Minister Barr.

“I'm delighted to see this project completed and I look forward to working with the Federal Government on other infrastructure projects.”

Minister Fitzharris said Constitution Avenue would now extend all the way through to Commonwealth Avenue thanks to an ACT Government commitment of $2.8 million, in conjunction with the Australian Government's centenary gift of $42 million.

“With this new connection for southbound traffic travelling out of the city, we hope to ease the burden on London Circuit, making the areas around the Civic Library more pedestrian friendly,” Minister Fitzharris said.