Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

Old silos are the new sight to see for Wheatbelt Tourists

Media Release


05 September 2018

Joint release with:

The Hon Alannah MacTiernan MLA

WA Minister for Regional Development

Rick Wilson MP

Federal Member for O'Connor

Western Australia's Wheatbelt and Great Southern regions have major new tourist attractions, after the transformation of three huge grain silos into major works of public art, forming part of the FORM Public SiloTrail.

Deputy Prime Minister, Nationals' Leader and Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Michael McCormack said the Federal Government's investment of $280,000 towards the art trail would help boost tourism in the Wheatbelt and Great Southern.

“These new murals in Albany, Newdegate and Pingrup are in addition to three already-existing works, meaning visitors will be able to follow this tourist trail to discover new artworks and new towns, boosting the numbers of tourists to the Wheatbelt and Great Southern,” Mr McCormack said.

“We are committed to ensuring regional areas continue to thrive and investing in the culture and arts of our regions not only improves their marketability but also helps these areas create a new and stronger sense of identity.”

Western Australian Minister for Regional Development Alannah MacTiernan, who officially opened the SiloTrail at Newdegate today, said the project had commissioned artists from around Western Australia, in addition to other national and international artists.

“This fabulous project is putting this region on the map and along with the murals, a cultural tourism toolkit has been created for these regions to help them market the art trail, including walking maps and promotional materials,” Ms MacTiernan said.

“This project has already supported 12 jobs during its initial stages, and we expect it will continue to contribute to the economic prosperity of the Wheatbelt and Great Southern regions.”

Federal Member for O'Connor Rick Wilson, who attended the official opening event in Newdegate today, said the project showcased the stories and voices of community champions, rail workers and grain growers.

“Behind each of these fantastic murals is an even more fascinating story of agriculture, industry and the livelihoods behind this beautiful part of the world,” Mr Wilson said.

“The project also included the creation of three short films to document and celebrate the project so people can understand how these once-industrial sites have been brought to life.”

This project was funded by the Australian Government ($280,000), Lotterywest ($190,000), CBH Group ($320,000) and Western Power ($100,000).