Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Gee MP Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

Green light for new Inland Rail Queensland Community Consultative Committee

Media Release


15 August 2018

Joint release with:

Senator The Hon Mathias Cormann

Minister for Finance
Leader of the Government in the Senate
Senator for Western Australia

Mr Bert van Manen MP

Federal Member for Forde

Mr Scott Buchholz MP

Federal Member for Wright

The Australian Government welcomes the establishment of a Community Consultative Committee (CCC) for the Kagaru to Acacia Ridge and Bromelton section of the Inland Rail project.

The Kagaru to Acacia Ridge and Bromelton committee will be the fifth established in Queensland, with the entire Queensland section of the Inland Rail route now covered by Community Consultative Committees.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Transport Michael McCormack said the establishment of this committee by the Australian Rail Track Corporation (ARTC) is an important opportunity for residents in the southern suburbs of Brisbane, Logan and parts of the Scenic Rim area to contribute local knowledge to the Inland Rail project.

“The Liberal and Nationals' Government understands strong working relationships between ARTC, local communities, stakeholder groups and councils are critical to the success of this project. CCCs help ensure community issues are brought to the fore and addressed during the planning and design of each Inland Rail section,” Mr McCormack said.

“CCCs provide an important mechanism for local communities to be listened to, delivering on the Government's commitment to ensure strong relationships are developed with local landowners and community groups along the route.

“An important role for the Kagaru to Acacia Ridge and Bromelton Community Consultative Committee will be to provide community input on aspects of the studies required as part of the project approvals process.”

Minister for Finance Mathias Cormann said the Australian Government is committed to deliver Inland Rail in a way that genuinely engaged with the communities along the route.

“We are investing more than $9 billion to make this longstanding vision of a freight corridor between Melbourne and Brisbane a reality,” Senator Cormann said.

“With Australia's freight task set to almost double over the next 20 years, this is a critically important investment into Australia's freight infrastructure for the future, with every dollar the Government invests forecast to return $2.62 to the Australian economy.”

Federal Member for Forde Bert van Manen said community consultation is critical to ensuring we deliver this project in a way which minimises impacts on local communities.

“Inland Rail is critical for the future of the country, but equally it must be built in way which minimises the impact on local communities,” Mr van Manen said.

“I have no doubt that ensuring noise and coal dust are adequately managed will be an important focus of the community consultative committee.”

Federal Member for Wright, Scott Buchholz welcomed the establishment of the final community consultative committee for the south-east Queensland region.

“This gives the people of Beaudesert, Jimboomba and the wider region the opportunity to have close consultation on the Inland Rail. I know this has been really important in sharing the feedback of the community in other parts of the region, including through the Lockyer Valley,” Mr Buchholz said.

“Inland Rail is vital—it will bring jobs and opportunity to the region, but as a local member I remain committed to working with the ARTC to ensure the local community is listened to.”

Inland Rail will create an estimated 16,000 direct and indirect jobs during construction and add $16 billion to the economy in its first 50 years of operation, contributing to the nation's economic growth and prosperity of our regions.

In Queensland alone Inland Rail will boost the Gross State Product by $7 billion and create approximately 5,750 direct and indirect jobs during construction. ARTC began seeking nominations for the committee on July 28 and the nomination process ends on

5pm, Friday 31 August.

Interested community members wanting to participate in the CCC are encouraged to nominate with more information about the CCCs available at