Key appointments to national transport safety agencies

Safety was the focus of key appointments made to transport agencies announced today by Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Transport Michael McCormack.

“I am pleased to announce Mr Mark Rindfleish—who has held senior safety board and advisory positions in several major Australian airlines—has been appointed to the Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA) Board for a three-year term,” Mr McCormack said.

“In addition to possessing a wealth of aviation safety expertise, as a former Head of Flying Operations and Chief Pilot with Jetstar Airways and Singapore Airlines captain, Mr Rindfleish also brings extensive aviation operational experience to the Board.

“His appointment is timely given the completion of the remaining elements of CASA’s regulatory reform program, including modernising flight operation regulations, is one of the Authority’s key priorities.

“I am also pleased to announce the re-appointments of Ms Carolyn Walsh and Mr Chris Manning as Australian Transport Safety Bureau (ATSB) Commissioners for a further two years.

“Ms Walsh is a former Chief Executive of the NSW Independent Transport Safety and Reliability Regulator and will continue to furnish the ATSB with strong rail safety expertise.

“As a former Chief Pilot and Group General Manager Flight Operations with Qantas, Mr Manning will continue to provide the Commission with the benefits of his more than 40 years of aviation experience.

“I look forward to working with CASA and the ATSB to ensure Australia’s transport safety systems continue to meet world’s-best-practice standards.”

More information about CASA is available at and more information about the ATSB is available at