Key appointments to Airservices Australia

Two key appointments to Airservices Australia have been announced today by Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Transport Michael McCormack.

“I am pleased to announce Mr John Weber has been appointed as the next Chair of Airservices for a three-year term,” Mr McCormack said.

“In addition to already having served on the Board as a member and Deputy Chair, Mr Weber brings strong governance and legal experience to the Chair's role.

“His appointment will provide for strong Board oversight of Airservices' ongoing major infrastructure investment program in air traffic and aviation rescue and fire-fighting services at our major airports.”

Mr McCormack has also reappointed Ms Fiona Balfour to the Board for a further two years.

“Ms Balfour has extensive information technology experience which will continue to be valuable as Airservices works with Thales and the Department of Defence on a new national air traffic management system under the OneSKY project,” Mr McCormack said.

“I look forward to working with the new Chair and the Board on ensuring Australia continues to have an air navigation service that continues to meet world's best-practice standards.”

“I would also like to take this opportunity to thank the outgoing Chair of Airservices, Air Chief Marshal Sir Angus Houston AK, AFC (Rtd), for his outstanding contribution to the Board of Airservices Australia since his appointment as Chair in 2011.

“During this period, Airservices has continued to safely provide a high standard of air traffic and aviation rescue and fire-fighting services while managing significant growth in demand from the international and domestic aviation industry.”

More information about Airservices Australia is available at