Civil Aviation Safety Authority Board appointments named

The Australian Government has today announced two new appointments to the Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA) Board, further strengthening Australia’s aviation safety regulator.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Michael McCormack announced the appointment of Ms Elizabeth Hallett and Ms Marilyn Andre to the CASA Board, each for a three-year term. 

“Ms Andre has a strong aviation background with more than 20 years of senior leadership experience across various sectors of the industry and is actively involved in encouraging, mentoring and promoting women as the future leaders of aviation,” the Deputy Prime Minister said.

“Ms Hallett has an extensive background in legal, regulatory and corporate governance, risk management and strategy development which will be so valuable to the CASA Board.”

The Deputy Prime Minister said the appointment of both Ms Hallett and Ms Andre would ensure CASA continued to deliver the high standard of aviation safety that the Government, travelling public and broader community expect. 

“I look forward to continuing to work closely with CASA to ensure Australia maintains our enviable position as a world leader in air safety and continues a safety regime that meets worldwide best-practice standards.

“I would also like to take this opportunity to acknowledge and thank Ms Anita Taylor and Ms Cheryl Cartwright for their valuable contributions to the Board.”

More information about CASA is available at

Media Contact

Mr McCormack - Dean Shachar 0418 202 860