Board appointments continue legacy of maritime safety

Liberal and Nationals Government is committed to continuing Australia’s strong maritime safety record, today making three appointments to the Australian Maritime Safety Authority (AMSA) Board.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Michael McCormack said ensuring the right mix of expertise and experience on the Board was critical to protecting the marine environment in line with international best practice.

“The reappointments today of Stuart Richey AM as Chair and Jennifer Clark as Deputy Chair maintains a strong and stable leadership team supporting the Authority’s ongoing successful management of strategic maritime priorities in marine safety and navigation,” Mr McCormack said.

“Mr Richey’s leadership and industry experience will continue to be of great value. He will bring his understanding as a commercial fisherman and offshore services operator to the AMSA Board.

“Ms Clark has been Deputy Chair of the AMSA Board since 2015 and Chair of the AMSA Board Audit Committee since 2014. She has an extensive background in business, finance and governance through a career as a Non-Executive Director since 1991.

“Dr Ian Poiner has also been appointed today and joins the AMSA Board as a highly respected marine scientist with a long history of involvement in the Great Barrier Reef science and conservation.

“Dr Poiner is currently Chair of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority and will remain in this position, further strengthening the existing relationship with AMSA.

“I would also like thank Dr Russel Reichelt who is leaving the AMSA board after 12 years of service and thank Dr Reichelt for his outstanding contributions to the AMSA Board over this time and wish him the very best in his future endeavours.”