Two new appointments complete Indigenous Reference Group

The renewed Northern Australia Indigenous Reference Group has kicked into gear with its first planning meetings and the appointment of two final members, Ms Gina Castelain (QLD) and Ms Cara Peek (WA).

The new members follow the appointments of Mr Colin Saltmere (Chair), Ms Tara Craigie (NT), Mr Jerome Cubillo (NT), Mr Troy Fraser (QLD), Ms Gillian Mailman (QLD), and Mr Peter Jeffries (WA).

Minister for Agriculture and Northern Australia David Littleproud met with the reference group for the first time on Friday 17 December.

“With nominations from across the political divide, I am pleased to have brought together this group of practical, action-oriented professionals who are making extraordinary contributions to business and industry across several sectors,” Minister Littleproud said.

“Their enthusiasm and dedication was palpable in our first meeting on Friday, and they are ready to dive into their work program with the first formal meeting in February.

“I look forward to receiving their advice on actions to achieve sustainable business and employment opportunities for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples across the north.”

Minister for Indigenous Australians, Ken Wyatt AM said the Australian Government is steadfast in its commitment to the Indigenous Reference Group.

“I thank Minister Littleproud for renewing this reference group and for his commitment to tapping into the commercial opportunities lying in the Indigenous estate in the north,” Minister Wyatt said.

“A lot of work has been done to identify these opportunities and now is the time to act on them, which we will do with the advice of this Indigenous Reference Group.”

Senator McDonald congratulated the new members on their appointment and noted the importance of working across portfolios and northern regions to operationalise this agenda.

“Our Government is delivering record investment and leadership as part of our Northern Australia agenda, to increase productivity and investment and make the north an attractive place to live,” Senator McDonald said.

“The depth of expertise and grassroots experience that this reference group brings to our northern development agenda will be critical to its success.”

For more information on the Government’s Northern Australia agenda and investments, including the Reference Group, visit here.

Media Contact:

Douglas Ferguson 0455 448 985 (Minister Littleproud)