Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Gee MP Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

$6 million Sense-T industry research projects announced

Media Release


04 May 2015

Joint release with:

Senator the Hon Stephen Parry

President of the Senate
Senator for Tasmania

The Australian Government is growing Tasmania's economy with $6 million in industry research projects announced today at the opening of the $2 million Sense-T NICTA Smart Logistics Lab.

President of the Senate and Senator for Tasmania Stephen Parry was at the University of Tasmania today to announce the successful projects and to open the new world class facility.

“This morning, I announced 14 successful industry research projects to receive a share of over $6 million in federal funding,” Senator Parry said.

“This funding is enabling Tasmania's best minds to focus their efforts on boosting the Tasmanian economy and driving economic growth.

“Work at the lab will deliver commercial solutions that help our industries be more competitive and efficient, creating advanced sensor manufacturing capability in Tasmania and undertaking leading-edge research in sensor technology and data science to support industry innovation.”

Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development Jamie Briggs said the Australian Government was delivering $13 million through the Tasmanian Jobs and Growth Package to the University of Tasmania to deliver the implementation of the project.

“The Australian Government is committed to driving growth and creating new jobs through targeted investments in productive infrastructure and innovative technologies,” Mr Briggs said.

“This research will focus on identifying opportunities to improve productivity in freight and logistics, agriculture, tourism, health and new financial services to grow Tasmania's economy.”

The Sense-T NICTA Smart Logistics Lab was jointly funded by $1 million contributions from the Australian Government and National ICT Australia.

Industry Research Projects Announcement


Forest and Wood Products—Dr David Blackburn & Dr Luke Mirowski

The University of Tasmania's School of Architecture and Design's Centre for Sustainable Architecture with Wood, and the School of Engineering and ICT's eLogistics Group.

Viticulture—Dr Katherine Evans & Associate Professor Byeong Kang

The Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture and the University of Tasmania ICT Discipline.

Potato Storage—Peter Hardman

Simplot Australia Pty Ltd.

Pasture Productivity—Dr Dave Henry

The Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture and CSIRO.

Water Management—Dr Philip Smethurst & Brigid Morrison

CSIRO and the University of Tasmania.

Irrigation Gateway—Mike Cruse

Definium Technologies, supported by Bitlink, iConnect Electrical and Brunstedt & Lambert Systems.

Sensor-smart Irrigation—Sue Hinton & Marcus Hardie

The Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture, the University of Tasmania ICT Discipline, National Centre for Engineering in Agriculture (NCEA), and CSIRO.

Algae in Water—Dr Chris Bolch

IMAS, Irrigation Tasmania, TasWater and Hydro Tasmania.


Macquarie Harbour Salmon—Dr Jayson Semmens & Dr Adam Main

The Tasmanian Salmonid Growers' Association, IMAS and CSIRO.

Oyster biosensors—Dr Jeff Ross & John McCulloch


Shellfish Health—John McCulloch



AirRater—Dr Fay Johnston & Professor David Bowman

The University of Tasmania, the Tasmanian Environment Protection Agency, CSIRO, Australian National University, and the Tasmanian Department of Health and Human Services.


Sensing Tourist Travel—Professor Richard Eccleston & Dr Anne Hardy

The University of Tasmania, Tourism Tasmania, Federal Hotels, tourism operators and the Tasmanian Government.

New Financial Services

Natural Capital Standards—Associate Professor Heather Lovell

The University of Tasmania's Institute for the Study of Social Change and the Tasmanian School of Business and Economics, NAB, and the Climate Disclosure Standards Board.