Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Broad MP Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

$2.06 million to fix Black Spots in the Northern Territory

Media Release


13 March 2015

Joint release with:

Mrs Natasha Griggs MP

Member for Solomon
Chairperson of the NT Black Spot Consultative Panel

The Australian Government is building safer roads through the Black Spot Programme, today announcing $2.06 million to fix eight Black Spot projects in the Northern Territory, plus an additional $606,000 set aside for black spots nominated by the community to be considered.

Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development Jamie Briggs was in Darwin today to make the announcement and said it was part of the Australian Government's record commitment of $500 million to the Black Spot Programme in the 2014 Budget.

“This commitment included an additional $200 million over two years from 2015–16, to fast-track investment in world class infrastructure across the country,” Mr Briggs said

“The Australian Government has broadened the eligibility criteria over these two years to ensure local communities have greater access to additional road safety funding.

“These projects are expected to prevent 49 injury crashes over 10 years, and deliver economic dividends of around $14 million.”

Federal Member for Solomon and Chairperson of the Northern Territory Black Spot Consultative Panel Natasha Griggs said investment in Black Spot projects would deliver safer roads for the Territory through targeted upgrades proven to deliver results.

“These black spot projects are targeted, local actions to save lives and reduce accidents,” Mrs Griggs said.

“This has been a community led program, with suggestions from local drivers who are on these roads every day, vetted by a local, expert panel.”

“More sites are currently being investigated and the Northern Territory Black Spot Consultative Panel will meet again in June 2015 to allocate the remaining $606,000 of available funding to further projects for 2015–16.”

Individuals and community groups are also encouraged to nominate black spots for consideration.

Nomination forms for Black Spot locations are online at

2015–16 Black Spot Projects—Northern Territory

Project NameTreatmentAustralian
Smith Street Daly Street DARWIN Install new traffic signals $550,277 $280,000 (Council) $830,277 Darwin City
Temple Terrace Emery Avenue GRAY Install a roundabout $500,000 - $500,000 Palmerston
City Council
Arnhem Highway
Culverts at Chainage 54.67 and
Widen road shoulder and improve slope batter $250,000 $2,250,000 (Territory) $2,500,000 Unincorporated
Elrundi Avenue Bonson Terrace MOULDEN Install left turn deceleration lane $260,000 $360,000 (Territory) $620,000 Palmerston
City Council
Flockhart Drive
Bridge between Muster Road and
Campfire Court
Install a separate bridge for pedestrians and cyclists $176,280 $264,420 (Council) $440,700 Palmerston
City Council
Ngukkur Road
From the school to the store
Install raised pedestrian crossings $100,000 $70,000 (Council) $170,000 Roper Gulf Regional Council
Kerinauia Highway
Paru-Milikapiti Road and
Pirlangimpi-Pickertaramoor Road
Install signage and guide posts $113,375 - $113,375 Tiwi Islands Regional Council
Wampana Road Lajamanu Store Precinct LAJAMANU Install parking spaces, two pedestrian crossings and pedestrian barriers $110,084 $36,328 (Council) $146,412 Central Desert Regional Council