Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Gee MP Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

Nominations open for Local Advisory Council

Media Release


23 April 2015

Joint release with:

Senator Zed Seselja

Senator for the Australian Capital Territory

The Australian Government is calling for nominations for the five-person Norfolk Island Advisory Council, to represent the local community and contribute to reform for Norfolk Island.

The Council will play a vital role in driving the reform process by taking into account views from the community and providing advice on critical issues.

As a first priority, the Advisory Council will be asked to consider the best model for the future Norfolk Island Regional Council, to be elected in the first half of 2016, to ensure the highest quality of local services can be delivered to the community.

Today's announcement is one element of the Australian Government's commitment to provide strong local representation on Norfolk Island. From 1 July 2016, local residents will also be fully represented at the federal level through inclusion in a single electorate from within the Australian Capital Territory.

As a future Senate representative for Norfolk Island, Senator Seselja is currently visiting the island and meeting locals to discuss the reforms. Senator Seselja welcomed the opening of the nomination process and encouraged interested community members to be involved.

The five Council members, including a Chairperson, will be appointed for a period of up to 12 months, with members to represent the Norfolk Island community. Council members will be appointed on a part-time basis, and membership will require a regular time commitment. Members will receive remuneration for their time.

Individuals are invited to complete the nomination form and declaration of interests which can be downloaded from the Norfolk Island Reforms webpage. Nominations will be treated as confidential and should be sent to the Office of the Administrator, or to the Norfolk Island Reform email address,, by 22 May 2015.

Those who have previously indicated an interest in being considered for a role on the Advisory Council are also asked to formalise their nomination through the same process.

Further information on the role of the Advisory Council and on making a nomination for membership can be found online at