Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Gee MP Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

Black Spot Programme Eligibility Broadens in NSW

Media Release


30 July 2014

Joint release with:

Hon. John Cobb MP

Federal Member for Calare
Chairperson of NSW Black Spot Programme Consultative Panel

The Australian Government is getting on with delivering safer roads and a stronger economy in New South Wales by removing limits that restrict the number of Black Spot projects in each local government area.

These changes will make it easier for local councils to compete for a record $200 million in additional funding for vital road safety projects.

In recent years local councils across New South Wales have been restricted to a limit of five active projects and ten proposals for Black Spot Programme projects.

Lifting this restriction for the next two years will give councils more opportunity to access funding to eliminate dangerous road locations and improve the safety and productivity performance of their road networks.

This is one of several changes to broaden the Black Spot Programme to ensure we build economically productive infrastructure across regional Australia whilst also delivering genuine road safety solutions to the communities that need it most.

We strongly encourage councils, individuals and communities across the state to nominate dangerous roads in their area for panel consideration.

With this limit removed local councils will have greater capacity to increase the number of treated Black Spot sites and improve road safety across New South Wales.

To be considered for project funding in 2015–16 site nominations need to be submitted to the Black Spot Consultative Panel by 29 August 2014.

Nomination forms for the Australian Government Black Spot Programme are available at: