Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

Black Spot Consultative Panel Chairs Appointed

Media Release


24 November 2013

I am pleased to announce the new Chairs of the Black Spot Programme Consultative Panels in each state and territory have now been appointed.

The chairs of each consultative panel will play a crucial role in determining which dangerous roads are the highest priorities for federal funding.

With panels established in each state and territory, nominated sites are considered and prioritised to ensure that communities get the projects they need and want.

The Black Spot Programme commenced in 1996 to assist in reducing the risk and associated trauma of road accidents across Australia and has delivered improvements at over 6,500 sites around Australia through some $980 million in funding.

Further, the Australian Government has committed another $60 million a year to this vital initiative.

Under the Black Spot Programme, sites with a history of at least three casualty crashes over a five-year period are addressed. Sites which do not meet the crash history criterion may still receive funding if they are identified as potentially dangerous through road safety audits.

Local knowledge is critical in identifying the most pressing roads for safety improvements and these appointees are best placed to facilitate the program's outcomes.

The newly appointed chairs are:

  • New South Wales—The Hon John Cobb MP
  • Queensland—Mr Ewen Jones MP
  • Victoria—Mr Dan Tehan MP
  • Western Australia—Senator Dean Smith
  • South Australia—Mr Rowan Ramsey MP
  • Tasmania—Senator David Bushby
  • Australian Capital Territory—Senator Zed Seselja
  • Northern Territory—Mrs Natasha Griggs MP

Importantly, anyone can nominate a black spot in their area for funding where there is a known crash history.

I thank the new chairs for taking on these important roles and look forward to their active engagement in helping fix some of our most dangerous intersections and stretches of road.