Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Gee MP Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

National Capital Authority Welcomes New Chief Executive

Media Release


19 December 2013

I am pleased to announce that Mr Malcolm Snow has been appointed as the new Chief Executive of the National Capital Authority (NCA)—Canberra's key agency for planning and development of the capital's cultural and political heart.

Mr Snow's background as an accomplished senior executive with experience in business and project management, urban planning, design and land development in both the private and public sectors means he is ably positioned to lead the NCA in the Chief Executive role.

Mr Snow has worked with and been a member of statutory and commercial boards and has extensive CEO experience, including a seven year period as CEO of South Bank Corporation in Brisbane. He has also held senior positions at national consulting firm Urbis and the Victorian Urban Renewal Authority.

A previous adviser to city, state and national governments on urban planning, design and placemaking, Mr Snow's experience will assist him to address and deliver the NCA functions of accommodating the Seat of Government and developing an appreciation of the capital.

Recognised for his outstanding professional experience, Mr Snow has been the recipient of 34 international, national and state awards for urban planning, design, development and business management excellence including The Australia Award for Urban Design on three occasions (1996, 2010 and 2012).

I look forward to working closely with Mr Snow in delivering the National Capital Plan and ensuring Canberra's place as one of national significance.

I would like to thank Mr Andrew Smith, Chief Planner of the NCA, for acting as Chief Executive over the last five months.

Mr Snow has been appointed for a term of five years. 

For more information on the NCA refer to