Government appoints new Chair of Australia Council

The Morrison Government has appointed Mr Robert Morgan as Chair of the Australia Council for a period of three years.

Minister for Communications, Urban Infrastructure, Cities and the Arts, the Hon Paul Fletcher MP, said Mr Morgan would provide critical leadership to the Australian Government’s principal arts funding body, and in turn to Australia’s creative and cultural sector.

“As long time Executive Chair of leading advertising and marketing communications firm Clemenger Group, as a director of the Sydney Swans and a former director of Opera Australia, Robert Morgan will bring great expertise and passion to the role of Chair of the Australia Council,” Minister Fletcher said.
“This is a key arts appointment at a key time for the arts sector. COVID hit the sector hard, but rebuilding is well under way, supported by our $200 million RISE fund, our $35 million Sustainability Fund, and many other measures.

“Commonwealth funding for the arts is more than $1 billion in 2021-22 - the first time this level of funding has ever been achieved.  

“I look forward to the role Robert Morgan will play in supporting the Morrison Government’s strategic priorities for the arts, including making the arts more accessible to all Australians. 

Minister Fletcher said, “The Australia Council has recently taken a major step in support of this priority by adding eight new companies to the National Performing Arts Framework, most of them located outside of Sydney and Melbourne. I know that under the leadership of Robert Morgan, and Chief Executive Adrian Collette, the Australia Council will have a strong and continuing reform agenda.”

Mr. Morgan said the Council plays a unique and important role in the Australian arts sector.

“It is an honour to be appointed Chair of the Australia Council,” Mr Morgan said. “I have spent my career in a sector focussed on creativity and believe deeply in the artistic and creative excellence we have in this country.”

Minister Fletcher thanked outgoing chair Mr Sam Walsh AO for his distinguished leadership of the Australia Council over the past five years, particularly during the unique and unforeseen challenges that arose from COVID-19.  

Media contact:

Christine Byllaardt | 0409 433 357 |