100 satellites installed under the Strengthening Telecommunications Against Natural Disasters program

Satellite dishes to provide NBN connectivity have now been installed on 100 Rural Fire Service building and evacuation centres across Australia under the $37.1 million Strengthening Telecommunications Against Natural Disasters (STAND) package.

If mobile and fixed-line connectivity goes down in a bushfire, these satellite dishes will allow continued broadband connectivity—including for voice service—to these vital locations.

Minister for Communication, Urban Infrastructure, Cities and the Arts, the Hon Paul Fletcher MP, said communications services are vital to help emergency services and affected communities keep safe during emergencies.

“These satellite dishes are connected to the NBN’s Sky Muster satellites, which have coverage of all 7.7 million square kilometres of Australia and operate even when terrestrial mobile or fixed line networks fail, which will keep communities affected by natural disasters connected to broadband,” Minister Fletcher said.

Minister for Agriculture, Drought and Emergency Management, the Hon David Littleproud MP, said the satellite dishes will act as a critical piece of infrastructure for emergency service workers.

“The Government recognises the essential role of fire service depots and evacuation centres during times of crisis, which is why we committed $7 million to deliver upgraded connectivity to these locations across the country,” Minister Littleproud said.

Sites installed as at 10 March 2021

State or Territory Location Address*
*Addresses below are for guidance only and should not be relied upon in a case of emergency or natural disaster
ACT 1. Hall Rural Fire Service Loftus Street, Hall
2. Namadgi National Park Visitors Centre Naas Road, Tharwa
3. Tidbinbilla National Park Visitors Centre Tidbinbilla Reserve Road, Paddys River
4. Guises Creek Rural Fire Service Base Corner Old Cooma Road and Monaro Highway, Royalla
5. Southern Districts Rural Fire Service Base North Street, Tharwa
6. ACT Emergency Services Agency Training Centre 89 David Warren Road, Hume
7. Tidbinbilla Rural Fire Service Base Tidbinbilla Road, Tidbinbilla
8. Rivers Rural Fire Service Base 903 Cotter Road, Stromlo
9. Murrumbidgee Parks & Conservation Service Depot Cotter Road, Murrumbidgee
10. Bendora Dam Parks & Conservation Service Depot Bendora Road, Bendora
11. Gudgenby Homestead Parks & Conservatiom Service Depot Boboyan Road, Booth
12. ACT Emergency Services Agency Communications Centre 82 David Warren Road, Hume
13. Glendale Parks & Conservation Service Depot Brandy Flat Road, Glendale
14. Victor Group Base 14 Watson Road, Lower Inman Valley
15. Mallee Group Control Centre Railway Terrace North, Lameroo
16. Kingscote Station Telegraph Road, Kingscote
17. Netley State Emergency Service Building 34, 300 Richmond Road, Netley
18. Kangaroo Island Group Base 4 Smith Street, Parndana
19. Gambier Group Base 51 Jubilee Highway, Mount Gambier
20. Loxton State Emergency Service Armstrong Ave, Loxton
21. Tatiara Group Base North Terrence, Bordertown
Tasmania   22. Elma Fagan Community Centre, Waratah 2847 Wilmot Road, Waratah
23. Huon Valley PCYC Building 72 Wilmot Road, Huonville
24. Karoola 1126 Pipers River Road, Karoola
25. Lilydale Memorial Hall 1949-1951 Main Road, Lilydale
26. Mathinna Recreation Ground High Street, Mathinna
27. Miena Community Hall 55-57 Cider Gum Road, Miena
28. Pyengana Hall 217 St Columba Falls Road, Pyengana
29. Sorell Memorial Hall 45 Cole St, Sorell
30. Wynyard Sports Centre 14A Austin Street, Wynyard
31. Currie Town Hall 10 George St. Currie
32. Swansea Town Hall 12 Franklin Street, Swansea
33. Sheffield Kentish Town Hall 66 High Street, Sheffield
34. Nubeena Recreational Ground 21 Clarke Street, Off Main Rd, Nubeena
35. Redpa Recreation Centre 30 Comeback Road, Redpa
36. Queenstown Sports Stadium Esplanade, Queenstown
37. Alonnah Hall 14 School Road, Alonnah
38. Latrobe & District Youth Centre Cotton Street, Latrobe
Western Australia 39. Volunteer Marine Rescue Centre Old Peaceful Bay Road, Peaceful Bay
40. Bremer Bay Sports Club 142 Frantom Way, Bremer Bay
41. Leeman Sports Oval Ruddock Street, Leeman
42. Lancelin Sports Club Lancelin Road, Lancelin
43. Bruno Gianatti Hall 27 Munro Street, Jarrahdale
44. Recreation and Community Centre Warren Road, Nannup
45. Jerramungup Sports Ground Derrick St, Jerramungup
46. Jurien Bay Football Oval 3 Bashford St, Jurien Bay
47. WA Department of Fire and Emergency Services Depot Lot 305 Banksia Drive,
48. Cervantes Community Recreation Centre 2 Aragon Street, Cervantes
49. Exmouth Shire Hall 2 Maidenstone Crescent,
50. Walpole Community Hall 44 Latham Avenue, Walpole
51. Denmark Recreation Centre Brazier Street, Denmark
52. Scout Evacuation Centre 51 Wallcliffe Road, Margaret River
53. Ravensthorpe Entertainment Centre Coleman Street, Ravensthorpe
54. Local Government Shire Office (Derby Civic and Visitor Centre) 30 Loch Street, Derby
Victoria  55. Licola Wilderness Village Jamieson Road, Licola
56. Ovens Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning Great Alpine Road, Ovens
57. Walwa Temporary Community Support Hub Main Street, Walwa
58. Paynesville Recreation Reserve 59 Main Road, Paynesville
59. Bairnsdale City Oval 20 MacArthur Street, Bairnsdale
60. Lakes Entrance Mechanics Hall 18 Mechanics St, Lakes Entrance
61. Orbost Cricket Club Oval 40 Arnold Street, Orbust
62. Cann River Recreation Reserve 24 Tamboon Road, Cann River
63. Omeo Recreation Reserve 99 Day Avenue, Omeo
64. Mallacoota Main Hall 25 Greer Street, Mallacoota
65. Buchan Rec Reserve 5609 Buchan-Orbost Road, Buchan
66. Mitta Valley Emergency Response Centre Mitta Nth Road, Mitta Valley
67. Tintaldra Temporary Community Support Hub Main Street, Tintaldra
68. Cudgewa Temporary Community Support Hub Cudgewa Football Club Main Street, Cudgewa
69. Biggara Temporary Community Support Hub Hall Paddock Track, Biggara
70. Lucyvale/Berringama Temporary Community Support Hub 763 Lucyvale Road, Lucyvale
71. Eskdale Emergency Response Centre Eskdale Multipurpose Sports Complex, Omeo Highway, Eskdale
72. Nariel Valley Temporary Community Support Hub Benambra Corryong Road, Nariel Valley
73. Towong Temporary Community Support Hub Brook Street, Towong
74. Myrtleford Senior Citizens Smith St, Myrtleford
75. Myrtleford Sports Stadium Yackandandah Road, Myrtleford
76. Dargo Bush Nursing Centre 72 Lind Avenue, Dargo
77. Dinner Plain Community Centre Big Muster Drive, Dinner Plain
New South Wales 78. Glen Innes Fire Control Centre (FCC) 100 Lambeth Street, Glen Innes
79. Coffs Harbour Fire Control Centre 1 Aviation Drive, Coffs Harbour
80. Cooma Fire Control Centre 11 Geebung Street, Cooma
81. Casino Fire Control Centre 40 Neville Bienke Memorial Dr, Casino
82. Kempsey Fire Control Centre North Street, West Kempsey
83. Nowra Fire Control Centre 92 Albatross Road, Nowra
84. Bega Fire Control Centre Maher Street, Bega
85. Hornsby Fire Control Centre 1049 Pacific Hwy, Cowan
86. Illawarra Fire Control Centre 37 Airport Road, Albion Park Rail
87. Wyong Fire Control Centre 105 Arizona Road, Charmhaven
88. Wauchope Fire Control Centre 108 Cameron Street, Wauchope
Queensland 89. Biloela Civic Centre 47 Prairie Street, Biloela
90. Central Highlands Emergency Management Control Centre and Evacuation site 36274 Capricorn Highway,
91. Kianga Hall Moura McArthur Street & Young Street, Moura
92. Robert Schwarten Pavilion New Exhibition Rd, Wandal
93. Taroom Town Hall 20 Yaldwyn Street Taroom
94. Bundaberg Multiplex Sport and Convention Centre 1 Civic Avenue, Bundaberg
95. Ingham Showgrounds Pavilion Cooper St, Ingham
96. Townsville Stadium Murray Lyons Crescent,
97. Cooktown Event Centre 3 May St, Cooktown
98. Gloucester Sport and Recreation Building Hydeaway Bay Drive, Hydeaway Bay
99. Collinsville Community Centre 11 Conway St, Collinsville
100. Mackay Entertainment and Convention Centre 258 Alfred Street, Mackay