National awards celebrate local government success through innovation

Outstanding achievers in local government have been recognised today, with Federal Minister for Local Government Mark Coulton announcing the nine category winners of the 2020 National Awards for Local Government.

Minister Coulton said the awards showcased the hard work of local governments in delivering targeted, quality services to communities across the nation.

“As in previous years, the standard of applications for the 2020 National Awards for Local Government is very high across all categories,” Minister Coulton said. 

“As a former Mayor, I know how hard our local governments work to build stronger and more sustainable communities to meet the growing needs of their residents – especially this year having experienced drought, bushfires, floods and now a pandemic.

“These long-running awards celebrate the outstanding achievements of local government in providing Australian communities with services that foster inclusiveness, diversity, vibrancy and cohesiveness.

“This year over 100 applications were submitted across all categories of awards – spanning the arts, regional growth, public safety, disability access and Indigenous communities – for judging by independent panels of government, non-government and industry experts.

“By providing national recognition for councils for their innovative and best practice projects, these awards acknowledge and celebrate the vital role they play in delivering services at the local level.

“I congratulate all the category winners as well as the applicants for this year’s awards for the amazing work they have done in delivering for communities across Australia.”

These category winners are now in the running for the 2020 National Award for Excellence in Local Government. This award and the Minister’s Award for Progressive Community Leadership will be announced at the 2020 National Award for Excellence in Local Government later in the year.

A list of category winners is provided below, with the full details of the winning projects available at

Media Contact:

Minister Coulton – Douglas Rodgers 0411 658 056

2020 National Awards for Local Government – Category Winners

Award category

2020 winner

Project name

Arts Animates

City of Wanneroo, Western Australia

DJ Course

Boosting Productivity through Infrastructure

City of Busselton, Western Australia

Busselton Margaret River Airport Development

Contributing to Regional Growth

City of Mandurah, Western Australia

Entrepreneurial Capacity Building Program

Disability Access and Inclusion

City of Sydney, New South Wales

Inclusive and Accessible Public Domain Policy Guidelines

Excellence in Road Safety

Queanbeyan-Palerang Council, New South Wales

Safe Systems Speed Project for Local Roads

Multicultural Australia

Sunshine Coast Regional Council, Queensland

Migrant Work Ready Program

Addressing Violence Against Women and their Children

City of Greater Dandenong, Victoria

Youth United Against Family Violence

Promoting Indigenous Recognition

Glenelg Shire Council, Victoria

Glenelg Aboriginal Partnership

Susan Grace Benny Award

Brimbank City Council, Victoria

Women’s Leadership Programs