Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities The Hon Michael McCormack MP Deputy Prime MinisterMinister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie Minister for Regional ServicesMinister for SportMinister for Local Government and Decentralisation The Hon Alan Tudge MP Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Sussan Ley MP Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories The Hon Andrew Broad MP Former Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Scott Buchholz MP Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport The Hon Barnaby Joyce MPFormer Deputy Prime MinisterFormer Minister for Infrastructure and Transport The Hon Dr John McVeigh MPFormer Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government The Hon Keith Pitt MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister The Hon Damian Drum MPFormer Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister Senator the Hon Fiona Nash Former Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Darren Chester MP Former Minister for Infrastructure and TransportFormer A/g Minister for Regional DevelopmentFormer A/g Minister for Local Government and Territories The Hon Warren Truss MP Former Deputy Prime Minister Former Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development The Hon Paul Fletcher MP Former Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities The Hon Jamie Briggs MP Former Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

Qld Adviser appointed to lead Inland Rail community consultation

Media Release


30 November 2016

Inland rail is a once in a generation project and the Coalition government is committed to engaging communities along the proposed route as the alignment is finalised.

Minister for Infrastructure and Transport, Darren Chester today announced the appointment of Mr Bruce Wilson AM to the role of Chair of the Yelarbon to Gowrie Project Reference Group.

Mr Chester said the Project Reference Group would provide local community input on the review of alignment options for this section of the Melbourne to Brisbane Inland Rail freight project.

“Mr Wilson has held many senior leadership roles including Director General of Queensland Transport, and has the required technical expertise to deliver a major infrastructure project such as Inland Rail,” Mr Chester said.

“He has worked closely with many Queensland communities during his career and this experience will hold him in good stead as he talks with people about the Inland Rail project.

“Working with the community is an essential element of the delivery of the inland rail project in South East Queensland. The options being considered include a route from:

  • Inglewood through Millmerran;
  • Karara and Leyburn;
  • Warwick; and
  • a route or connection to the Charlton and Wellcamp areas.

“Mr Wilson will commence meeting with the Yelarbon to Gowrie Project Reference Group in early December to discuss the Inland Rail alignment reviews in order to deliver the best possible outcome for this priority project.

“The Group will be represented by community representation organisations including farming peak bodies and organisations; Chambers of Commerce and business groups; environmental and conservation organisations; and community and progress associations.

“I welcome the strong support of the Member for Groom, the Hon Dr John McVeigh MP and the Member for Maranoa, Mr David Littleproud MP, for the Inland Rail project and in particular for representing the interests of their communities.

For more information visit: