Funding to fast-track more road safety projects in South Australia

Significant road safety upgrades will be fast-tracked to help reduce road trauma and save lives on South Australian roads, thanks to a $52.69 million funding boost from the Australian and South Australian governments.

The funding will support a further 16 road safety projects across the state, with a focus on rural and regional roads, including:

  • safety treatments along the Eyre Highway between Ceduna to Head of Bight;
  • upgrades to priority sections of the Stuart Highway from North of Coober Pedy; and
  • works along the Barrier Highway from Burra to Cockburn.

The upgrades are jointly funded under the Road Safety Program, with the Australian Government contributing $42.15 million and the South Australian Government providing $10.54 million.

Projects include delivering safety barriers, surface treatment, audio tactile line marking on edge and centre lines, shoulder sealing, lane widening, and pavement treatments – which will help reduce the occurrence of crashes, particularly run-off-road crashes.

These projects will create 200 jobs and new opportunities for businesses and suppliers, delivering an important economic boost and helping drive South Australia’s economic recovery.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Barnaby Joyce said the road upgrades would help keep motorists safe and the economy strong.

“One life lost on Australian roads is one too many, which is why we are delivering this funding to improve roads right across the nation,” the Deputy Prime Minister said.

“We are investing in shovel-ready projects that can get underway quickly, saving lives sooner while supporting local construction jobs, businesses and the economy.

“Better road infrastructure will keep motorists and freight moving safely and efficiently, reducing the number of tragedies on our roads and driving our nation’s productivity.

“This additional funding builds on the almost $126 million already flowing to 28 projects across South Australia, all of which are already completed or underway.

“The Liberal and Nationals Government is getting the job done for South Australians, delivering the infrastructure they need and deserve with more than $12.9 billion committed to infrastructure projects in the state since 2013.”

South Australian Minister for Infrastructure and Transport Corey Wingard said that every South Australian has the right to get home safely, which is why these road safety works are crucial.

“By making these upgrades to regional roads like shoulder sealing, installing physical barriers to prevent crashes and creating raised pedestrian crossings, we are moving towards our ultimate goal of having no South Australians facing injuries or fatalities on our roads,” Mr Wingard said.

“Our country roads were neglected for years by the former Labor government but we recognise the critical role they play and that’s why we’re investing in the regions to improve road safety and also create jobs.”

Federal Assistant Minister for Road Safety and Freight Transport Scott Buchholz said the new projects are expected to be delivered later this year.

“Fast-tracking road safety upgrades means that commuters, truck drivers and freight operators will be enjoying smoother, safer more efficient journeys into the future,” Mr Buchholz said.

“Delivering these upgrades as soon as possible is crucial to protecting motorists while also boosting our economy on the other side of the COVID-19 pandemic.

“This is another example of the Australian Government working to reduce the number of Australians missing around the dinner table due to tragedies on our roads.”

Funding under the Road Safety Program is delivering 44 projects across the state and supporting 1,337 jobs.

The Australian Government has committed $252 million overall under the Road Safety Program to make South Australia’s roads safer.

For more information on the Australian Government’s $3 billion Road Safety Program and other road safety initiatives, visit

Media contacts:

Deputy Prime Minister – Antony Perry | 0477 971 654 |

Mr Wingard – Gemma Coombe | 0415 175 716 |

Mr Buchholz – Scott O’Connell | 0413 424 384 | Scott.O’