Reappointment to the Australian Transport Safety Bureau

Media Release


23 June 2015

The Australian Government has reappointed Mr Noel Hart as a Commissioner with the Australian Transport Safety Bureau (ATSB).

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development Warren Truss announced the two-year extension of Mr Hart's term today, effective from 1 July 2015.

“Mr Hart's extensive maritime and resource industry operations experience, along with his previous work on the Commission, will be a valuable asset to the Commission as it continues its investigative work into the future,” Mr Truss said.

“Mr Hart's maritime experience will continue to ensure that the Commission has expertise in each of the transport modes covered by the ATSB, complementing the aviation and rail experience of the other two part-time Commissioners.

“I will be looking to the Commission to provide strong leadership to the ATSB as Australia's national safety investigator across the aviation, maritime and rail sectors.”

More information on ATSB's commissioners can be found here: