Growing stronger regions across South Australia

Media Release


27 January 2015

Joint release with:

Geoff Brock

SA Minister for Regional Development and Local Government

David O'Loughlin

President of the Local Government Association of South Australia

The Australian Government has today announced the Chair and Deputy Chair appointments to Regional Development Australia (RDA) committees across South Australia.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development Warren Truss said the three-year appointments will provide leadership to RDA committees to drive economic growth and make the most of the potential capability of their region.

“The RDA committees can play a key role in growing stronger regions across the nation and ensure all three tiers of government work together,” Mr Truss said.

“The committees will advise on priority activities that will unlock regional economic development and improve the productivity of their region.

“RDA committees will provide advice to the Government on critical issues affecting each region and are an important mechanism to increase access to Australian Government programmes in their communities.

“The committees will also assist local community stakeholders to develop project proposals and direct them to appropriate public and/or private funding sources—including the $1 billion National Stronger Regions Fund.”

South Australian Minister for Regional Development and Local Government Geoff Brock said the appointments were good news for regional development in the state.

“With the new appointment of Chairs and Deputy Chairs, RDA Boards will be able to provide vital input to State and Federal Governments to inform their policy processes,” Mr Brock said.

President of the Local Government Association of South Australia David O'Loughlin said local government and communities would continue to benefit from RDA committees facilitating regional projects.

“The Local Government Association welcomes the Australian and State Governments' continued support of economic development throughout South Australia's regions,” Mr O'Loughlin said.

The following individuals have been appointed as Chairs and Deputy Chairs:

  • RDA Adelaide Hills, Fleurieu and Kangaroo Island—Mrs Carol Schofield AM (Deputy)
  • RDA Adelaide Metropolitan—Ms Felicity-ann Lewis (Chair); Ms Megan Webster (Deputy)
  • RDA Barossa—Mr Ivan Venning (Chair); Mr Alex Zimmermann (Deputy)
  • RDA Far North—Dr Jennifer Cleary (Chair); Mr Mark Sutton (Deputy)
  • RDA Limestone Coast—Mr Richard Vickery (Chair); Mr Alan Richardson (Deputy)
  • RDA Murraylands and Riverland—Mayor Neil Martinson (Chair); Mayor David Burgess (Deputy)
  • RDA Whyalla and Eyre Peninsula—Mayor James Pollock (Chair)
  • RDA Yorke and Mid North—Mr William Vandepeer (Deputy)

Regional Development Australia consists of a national network of 55 committees designed to strongly focus on regional economic development and facilitate local projects that aim to make a difference in their local communities.

The Chair and Deputy Chair will now move promptly to appoint a team of active local community leaders to support them.

Mr Truss thanked retiring committee Chairs and members for their service and wished the new committees well as they work to deliver stronger local regions.